cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

wireless connection

sweeney

wireless connection

This is my first attempt on this site.Not sure who can reply to this basic question.
I am trying to connect my desktop computer to my plusnet router but it does not have a wireless connection.
My desktop operates on XP.Can I connect using a USB wireless adapter and if so will any adapter work?
Regards
Sweeney
7 REPLIES 7
AxeMurderer
Grafter

Re: wireless connection

Yes
More or less any one should work but I would buy either one by the same manufacturer as the router or one that someone says they have got working with XP (have a look at the user reviews on Amazon for example). Here's an example one that seems like a good bet: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Wireless-Internet-Adaptor-150Mbps-Windows/dp/B004S7WTJQ/ref=sr_1_37?ie=UTF8&...
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 385

I am trying to connect my desktop computer to my plusnet router but it does not have a wireless connection.

Some people don't realise that the PlusNet Wireless router also provides wired connections.
Is the desktop too far away from the router to use a wired connection ?

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

Strat
Community Veteran
Fixes: 565

BTW welcome to the forum sweeney Smiley
Windows 10 Firefox 109.0 (64-bit)
To argue with someone who has renounced the use of reason is like administering medicine to the dead - Thomas Paine
AlaricAdair
Champion
Fixes: 1

I've had Belkin USB wireless devices working ok with XP (Service pack 2 and more recent) with a range of wireless routers.  The only real issue was making sure the USB wifi device supports the same encryption as your ADSL router eg WAP, WEP, etc but it will state that on the box.
Now Zen, but a +Net residue.
sweeney