cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

should I change ?

Woofersmummy

should I change ?

I've been with Plusnet, initially with Madasafish since 2012.

Currently have plusnet unlimited on a rolling monthly contract.

I normally do the line rental saver yearly so works out at £27.49.. I have free weekend and evening calls

My line rental is up for renewal. 

I had a quick look around as to what else is on offer both with PN and others, a quick check on U switch doing their speed test using wifi, showed Download of 6.16 and upload of 0.8 mb. We are approx 0.5 miles from the exchange.

is what I'm on best option? I'm not very tech savvy lol

5 REPLIES 5
bmc
Hero
Fixes: 48

Re: should I change ?

@Woofersmummy

Put your phone number in the following and see what it says. If you can post a screen image of the results (hiding your phone number) we can explain what's available.

http://www.dslchecker.bt.com/adsl/adslchecker.welcome

Brian

pjmarsh
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 20

Cost wise you would most likely be best in a contract.  To get a deal from Plusnet you'd need to call 0800 432 0200 and select the "I'm thinking of leaving" option (option 3 I think it is).

As for speed, it's not too often that you would get too much of a difference between ISPs using the same technology.  It sounds like you are on an adsl2+ connection, so would likely see similar speeds with most ISPs on one of the adsl packages.  If you feel you need something faster (and it is available to you), you could upgrade to a fibre connection which would cost more, and would usually give you faster speeds.  That would depend on the green cabinet that your line goes through being enabled for fibre and then your speed would depend on your distance to that.  If you are thinking about that, then if you post back I'm sure someone will help you get an idea of if its available and how much faster it would be.