cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

same sync speed every time

scootie
Grafter
Posts: 4,799
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎03-11-2007

same sync speed every time

asbo's wondering how many others are getting the same sync speed every time?.
Today i have found that even doing a sync at 23.30 i got the same sync speed as when i synced my line week before at midday both 4544 bang on.
Now the old adsl DLM use to sync a diffrent rates even if it was only a few kbps and would vary alot in diffrence between daytime and night time sync's
is this a new feature of the 21cn DLM we dont know about Undecided
below is a graph of when i did some snr tweaking abit go notice the DLM when left alone sync's bang on 4544 every time
22 REPLIES
qwerty
Grafter
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎19-08-2007

Re: same sync speed every time

Hi Asbo
Been same here for a few days now, the dslam seems to have fallen in love with  6655 kbps
regardless of s/n at that time,before this I synced 8 to 9 meg with 6db S/n ,lets hope it's short lived
Later
scootie
Grafter
Posts: 4,799
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎03-11-2007

Re: same sync speed every time

i am not sure if iam in favour of this new apporach the DLM is taking yet.
On old DLM one tactic i used to get errors low on my long fast path line was to do a sync at night to set bit loading up for night time noise levels which i found hard to do last night and had to risk raising snr upto around 12db my self
But on the plus side i dont have to worry about my sync speed droping below the theshold for streaming bbc iplayer HD as things stand
I started to see this same sync speed when i killed my old netgear and replaced it with a belkin which was on the 27th april which was just under 3 weeks from going on the trial and that was stuck at sync of 3068 Undecided on a 15db target
Then replaced the belkin for a new netgear a few days later 30th or 1st Undecided and got the same sync as the belkin but a day later my line dropped and came back with a 9db target and 4544 sync
i est that the stuck sync started 20 days after going on adsl2.
asbo wonders if this is the new training period as all syncs varied in the 20 days
scootie
Grafter
Posts: 4,799
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎03-11-2007

Re: same sync speed every time

asbo's just had one of those light bulb moments
i think iam right in thinking all the stuck sync's ive seen are most likley on adsl2 like my self due to the sync speeds i remember seeing in posts that metion stuck sync's.
adsl2+ seem to be having the complete opposite happen to there sync's and have massive difference in sync speeds
markrach
Grafter
Posts: 311
Registered: ‎22-10-2008

Re: same sync speed every time

I have just notices this too , same sync of 3072 , seem my line has been capped , DGteam firmware tweaking makes no difference now (they did before) , not sure when this happened to my line but in the words "Capped" springs to mind  Cool
EDIT:
Cannot force ADSL2 or GDM.t now either  Undecided , no change in SNR tweaking either 50% still syncs @ 3072 with 15db SNR .
# /usr/sbin/adslctl info --stats
/usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
Status: ShowtimeRetrain Reason: 0
Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 856 Kbps, Downstream rate = 3072 Kbps
Link Power State: L0
Mode:                  ADSL2+
Channel:                Fast
Trellis:                U:ON /D:ON
Line Status:            No Defect
Training Status:        Showtime
                Down            Up
SNR (dB):      14.9            7.6
Attn(dB):      55.5            31.5
Pwr(dBm):      18.5            12.4
Max(Kbps):      5760            18392
Rate (Kbps):    3072            856
                        G.dmt framing
K:              97(0)          108
R:              0              0
S:              1              1
D:              1              1
                        ADSL2 framing
MSGc:          59              14
B:              96              107
M:              1              1
T:              1              1
R:              0              0
S:              1.0000          4.0000
L:              776            216
D:              1              1
                        Counters
SF:            31602          25676
SFErr:          0              51035
RS:            0              0
RSCorr:        0              42692
RSUnCorr:      0              0
HEC:            0              72563
OCD:            0              0
LCD:            0              0
Total Cells:    3722920        3906848634
Data Cells:    4974            16751116
Drop Cells:    0
Bit Errors:    0              5723484
ES:            401            5521
SES:            0              1264
UAS:            97              126594
AS:            514
INP:            0.00            0.00
PER:            16.25          20.00
delay:          0.25            1.00
OR:            32.00          8.00
Bitswap:        0              7
Total time = 11 hours 6 min 20 sec
SF  = 2450655
CRC = 441
LOS = 0
LOF = 0
ES  = 401
Latest 1 day time = 11 hours 6 min 20 sec
SF  = 2450655
CRC = 441
LOS = 0
LOF = 0
ES  = 401
Latest 15 minutes time = 6 min 20 sec
SF  = 23393
CRC = 0
LOS = 0
LOF = 0
ES  = 0
Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
SF  = 48208
CRC = 2
LOS = 0
LOF = 0
ES  = 2
Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
SF  = 0
CRC = 0
LOS = 0
LOF = 0
ES  = 0
15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
SF  = 55428
CRC = 2
LOS = 0
LOF = 0
ES  = 2
15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
SF  = 55365
CRC = 3
LOS = 0
LOF = 0
ES  = 3
15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
SF  = 55428
CRC = 5
LOS = 0
LOF = 0
ES  = 3
scootie
Grafter
Posts: 4,799
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎03-11-2007

Re: same sync speed every time

@markrach
any idea how many days after being adsl2+ enabled that this stuck sync started?
Also whats your bitloading like when your syncing on adsl2+ with a sync 3072 ?
I thought the common theme on adsl2 /adsl2+ was that if nothing is used above 1100 KHz the the DLM forces a adsl2 sync
itsme
Grafter
Posts: 5,924
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎07-04-2007

Re: same sync speed every time

Probably using ADSL2+ because
                Down            Up
SNR (dB):      14.9            7.6
Attn(dB):      55.5            31.5
Pwr(dBm):      18.5            12.4
Max(Kbps):      5760          18392
Rate (Kbps):    3072            856
Shocked Shocked
markrach
Grafter
Posts: 311
Registered: ‎22-10-2008

Re: same sync speed every time

Isme
My point exactly , that figure is shown on all my routers  Huh , i was told not to report it as it was my routers mis reporting so i have done nothing about it , but i don't think thats the case on that being that different brands report such a high upstream max , this was also showing on the test that BT done from my house fluctuating all over the place untill it dropped . Its purley my fault as i buy routers that don't work correctly .  Tongue, misconfigured line maybe i dunno just cannot be bothered with it anymore  Grin , my useage is about 3gb this month kids use it sometimes  Sad
@ASBOGOG
I would RD in and get some graphs for you ASBO DOG but it seems to be down (wasn't a while ago) . But i do know that its nowhere near 1100khz and that i cant force ADSL2 .
Mark
markrach
Grafter
Posts: 311
Registered: ‎22-10-2008

Re: same sync speed every time

As requested
scootie
Grafter
Posts: 4,799
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎03-11-2007

Re: same sync speed every time

there's defo room for more bitloading on the tones there.
again i call for PN to follow up with BTw to see if this is normal built in behaviour of the new DLM or a BUG.
as in markrach's case the fixed sync speed is not a postive thing where in my case its more of a posative effect all tho i would like to beable to set bitloading up at night time noise levels to reduce error rates on fastpath
i didnt get round to capture my bitloading when i was stuck down at 3070 ish i think it may of been 3068 not sure tho.
But this is mine on 4544 fixed sync rate and as you can see after its been synced over night the bit's are being loaded in places out side of the snr which is'nt a gd thing to have.
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,926
Thanks: 1,267
Fixes: 71
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: same sync speed every time

@markrach Since only 256 bins are shown in that plot I would guess that the line is running in ADSL2 mode whatever the router might claim. Perhaps that's part of the problem, the router trying to use information that isn't present?
The bit loading plot shows bins above 160 provide an indifferent contribution and those above 200 nothing.
David
David
markrach
Grafter
Posts: 311
Registered: ‎22-10-2008

Re: same sync speed every time

Even after a reboot the tones are the same , before the line was caped @ 3072 i got well over 1000khz if i remember , TBH i think my line is pants even with ADSL Nation + low interferance RJ11 and RJ45 etc etc  Roll eyes and a generic 834GT , line was ok on ADSL1 3500 profile and i did tweak at one point to get 4000 but put it back as i got a little paranoid with BT IP profiling system
Sauniere
Grafter
Posts: 58
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎18-03-2009

Re: same sync speed every time

I've been away for the weekend.  before I went my connection speed had been constantly betwee 7000 & 7500k IP profile of around 6500
I returned home on sunday and founf connection speed to be 3047 and IP profile at 2500.  This has remained the same since then despite numerous reboots and router turn offs etc.  It's really annoying
Any ideas anyone?
scootie
Grafter
Posts: 4,799
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎03-11-2007

Re: same sync speed every time

how many days after being adsl2 enabled did the stuck sync aprox happen?
Sauniere
Grafter
Posts: 58
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎18-03-2009

Re: same sync speed every time

it's a couple of months since i was enabled