cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

pppoe

Blakie

pppoe

Can anyone give me a definitive answer as to the viability of pppoe on BT lines. I am hoping to set up a wireless network using DD-WRT and a Linksys router. The BT voyager 210 in Bridge mode. As far as I can see both the Linksys and DD-WRT only support pppoe rather than the recommended pppoa. From reading other posts it seems that pppoe MAY work. Has anyone got any expierience of trying this. Is this issue exchange specific?
I'm very new to all this and still learning and so I would appreciate any help you can offer.
Thanks
15 REPLIES 15
grahamt
Rising Star

Re: pppoe

As far as I know, PPPoE will work as long as you're on the 21CN. I think that covers both ADSL1 and ADSL2+ - but you need to be on the 21CN. I'm sure someone here will correct me if I'm wrong. I can't quite remember why the 21CN makes a difference. It may be because it's built around native IP. Again, I'm sure someone more knowledgeable will help us out here.
PPPoE certainly works for me on 21CN/ADSL2+. (I tried it once when someone said it might be more stable. I don't know if that's true but I kept it - even though my line is now more stable than it used to be -  as I quite like using the same system as most of Europe. Others may of course prefer British individualism/isolation) The only downside is that sometimes after a resync at my end it takes several (5-7) minutes for PPP to be re-established after the basic ADSL line comes up. I don't know if that's a universal experience.
The only thing you have to remember when configuring PPPoE is to adjust your multiplex setting to LLC rather than VC.
I don't think it's exchange-specific (apart from the exchange supporting 21CN).
Graham
adamwalker
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Fixes: 221

Blakie,