cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

modem advice

chopper79

modem advice

hi, i have just signed up for plusnet broadband and its due to be active in a couple of days but i didnt get a modem as i have come from bt buisness and already have a BT2700HGV which i was hoping would work. my question is, do i have to do anything with the modem or do i just plug it in and wait for it to go live. when i plug it in now all the lights are green except for the internet light which is red (sorry if im asking obvious questions but im a noob with all this). i dont even know how to get into my modem settings so advice with this would help if needed. i am online at the moment using a dongle. can i access the settings through the browser if i cant use the modem in the first place. i hope that all makes sense and any help would be really appreciated.
7 REPLIES 7
andy020
Grafter

Re: modem advice

Hi here are the broadband setting that are required for plus net residential..  the main section you need to focus on is broadband connection settings.
These are the settings rquired for the router to connect to plus net
http://www.plus.net/support/customer_service/using/settings.shtml?supporta=featconnsett
Usual way to access a router.. would be 192.168.1.1, or 192.168.0.1for general routers, 192.168.1.254 for bt hubs, you put either one of these IPs into the browser search bar (addressbar) works for I.E, or firefox not sure about the other browsers Smiley hope i helped abit...
Various passwords and usernames can be
username:admin/password: admin
username:admin/<leavepassword blank>
username:admin/password: password
Here is a site with additional information about the modem you posted with details on how to change the settings etc..
http://bt2700hgv.tripod.com/063.htm
Oldjim
Resting Legend
Fixes: 63

Jaggies
Aspiring Pro
Fixes: 2