Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

loss of synchronisation

vlb
Dabbler

loss of synchronisation

Hi
I just wanted to share the problems i have been having lately with my internet quality.  I started having completly random disconnects just before xmas, as i use my internet alot it really got to beyond a joke, i would get 5 - 6 a night then it would be ok for a couple of days then back to being crap.
I logged a support ticket with f9 and they duly asked me to make sure that i didnt have anything in my master socket etc (the only think that has ever been in my master socket is my rj11 cable) they did a line test and found nothing wrong. because i work in IT i know how important it is to rule out hardware problems when troubleshooting so i bought a new router/microfilters and the problem continued, the good thing about my new router is that it allows me to view the logs, those pointed to a loss of synch as the reason for my d/c.  after i gave f9 my logs they did another line test and found a "major problem" which they then passed to BT, BT did a line test and found nothing!!!! F9 said that if BT came to the house and found a problem with my wiring they would charge me £140, naturally i want this problem fixed so i agreed and provided them with the requested 3 available times and dates for BT to come around. 1 week later (and 3 mornings off work) i am still waiting on any kind of contact from BT.
I am not blaming F9 for this farce in anyway as i know the line and any problems related to it are not their responsibility and i have been a F9 customer for 5 years and never had a problem (which is why i have recommended 6 people to them in that time, nice saving on my bill)
has anyone else had these problems with BT, the thing with BT in my area is that they are the only telephone provider which means we have no alternative which in turn means they can provide a second rate service and get away with it.