cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

keep loosing connection

dpop-03

keep loosing connection

My TV keeps pausing and my internet connection is slow and my son is complaining he keeps getting kicked off COD because of lagging... today the router has been flashing orange but quickly goes back to blue.  changed from BT to PlusNet because of the cheaper price but regretting it as it wasn't this bad with BT ... I have tried the advised checks to make sure its all connected up properly, I'm not very technically minded so I do find it confusing. 

14 REPLIES 14
jab1
Legend
Fixes: 248

Re: keep loosing connection

Welcome to the forums, @dpop-03 . Before I try and make suggestions, can you confirm you are definitely on an ADSL connection? If you actually have FTTC, the advice will differ.

John
dpop-03

Hello thanks for the reply, I have ADSL
jab1
Legend

OK - I had to check.Smiley

Plusnet staff support, like the phone service, is still severely restricted. If you would like help from the community, a good starting point is to have a look at This post and supply as much detail from it as possible.

It would also be a good idea to carry out a 'Quiet Line Test' - dial 17070 from a (preferably corded) phone and select option 2 - there should be no discernable noise. If there is, report a phone fault first, as without a clear phone connection, your broadband will not perform correctly.

It may be an idea to also report your lines capabilities - please post your results from THIS site, but ensure your phone number is obscured/hidden.

If you reply to this topic with as much detail as possible, there are plenty of experienced members who can advise on possible remedies.

John
CC99

Feel your pain, I switched from Sky after about 6 years with them, absolutely no problems.