cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

how can I protect my DSL from storms

David_W
Rising Star

Re: how can I protect my DSL from storms

You could buy a surge protector with built in phone socket.  I have a Belkin Surgemaster which would let me plug a phone socket into the surge protector so if the phone line was struck by lightening the protector should in theory prevent my router blowing up.  If the router (or any device attached to the protector) did blow up due to the strike, Belkin guarantee against damaged for up to £10,000.
Of course, the protector has a standard UK plug socket and I have no idea what it would do with SNR/attenuation so I don't actually use it with my phone socket, just for my PC.  I'd probably have to stick a filter into the protector and then another filter between the protector and the phone socket, not even sure if it would work for the internet either so umm, yeah, it's possible to surge protect the phone line.  Then of course we get the question of if the phone line was struck would it travel down the phone cable to the router and then through the router via all the ethernet cables to connected devices, or would the surge protector kill the router first..... I have no idea.
itsme
Grafter

Nope. I have a Belkin mains distribution panel with telephone surge protection and there was an electrical storm near by, not sure how far but I was not aware of any lightening strikes close to my house. It took out the telephone surge protector, 2 ADSL filters, ADSL modem, VoIP ATA and an ethernet card. The ethernet card was connected to the VoIP ATA .
Gus
Aspiring Pro
Fixes: 3

I get lighting fairly often here, all I can say is unplug all connections to your pc and router if you can.  Do not rely on surge protection, as all it takes one hit and it no longer works then so does your pc on next hit.