cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

..... fault never seen before??? please help

acs

..... fault never seen before??? please help

We have broadband at two properties, for the past couple of months we have suffered connection issues at both properties.....
on all ocassions the following symptoms exist.....
router sync - yes
ppp - yes
ip address - yes
dns - yes
ip ping - yes
internet browsing - no
the problem is sometimes resolved by swapping internet username & password on the router for the one we use on the 2nd account
The problem is always resolved by swapping out the router for another router (but if swapped back to the first router, this also works)
Note: setting dns manually did not resolve fault
I'm an IT Engineer and have resolved many broadband connection issues but haven't come across this one before
......has anyone else had this problem?
would be very grateful of any help offered, as I could do without having to have two routers at each property
Thanks
Kev
6 REPLIES 6
paulby
Grafter

Re: ..... fault never seen before??? please help

Are you running any software firewalls (including the Windows firewall) on the machines? 
If you are, try disabling them temporarily to see if the problem is resolved.  Also make sure that your local network is in the "trusted zone" (or similar dependent on the firewall you're using) otherwise all your internet traffic will likely be blocked.
I can't think of anything else that would cause the problems you're seeing - it does look like it could be a firewall issue though.
Edit: typos
samuria
Grafter

You say there is no Internet browsing how does this manifest its self what is the error and what browser?
If its just the browser does another browser work ie Firefox? When this happens can you run from the cmd prompt ping tracert etc and do they work with names ie ping www.plus.net as well as ip ie ping 194.119.131.66.
Can you ping from the router