Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

dropbox / Onedrive / GDrive uploads make the web browsing stagnant

aimrashid

dropbox / Onedrive / GDrive uploads make the web browsing stagnant

Hi,
I am new to Plusnet.
I switched from O2 / Sky which I have used since 2011 because I wanted to support a smaller and local company.
however I have been very dissapointed from day one.
the first problem was the time taken for the switch (nearly a month) which they somehow forgotten or did not notice my application.
the second which I am facing now, is the uploads problem.
I am an avid user of Dropbox/ Onedrive/ GDrive and I upload files on hourly and daily basis.
during the uploads, web browsing becomes stagnant, hence, nobody in the household could access the internet even from my computer.
I have to turn off auto uploads everytime this happens.
has anyone experienced this problem before?
and how to solve this?
I have tried some advises they gave.
1. connect to the main cable (the one hidden which you have to unscrew)
2. and use ADSL cable.
I havent try to connect my previous O2 router since I could not configure.
the O2 router requests an static IP address, subnet mask and default gateway which I am clueless about.
thanks in advance for any advises.
6 REPLIES 6
BruceMcTavish
Grafter

Re: dropbox / Onedrive / GDrive uploads make the web browsing stagnant

I use Dropbox and GDrive and had a similar issue on basic ADSL.
If you go into Settings / Preferences in both of them you can limit the bandwidth usage for uploads which will give more back to other uses but will obviously slow down the time it takes to upload.

Seems to work fine.
chrcoluk
Grafter

either cap the upload speeds via software (may not be possible), or add some upstream QoS to your router.
Townman
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 160

Hi,