Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

disconnections / strong winds?

Tsonga
Grafter

disconnections / strong winds?

Just a quick question for you experts.
I had just had the longest period without disconnections, almost seven days!
And then, in the last 2 or 3 days, I have had to reconnect on a regular basis (well, 2 or 3 times a day).
Just wondering if there could be be a link with the high winds we've been having. Don't laugh, I am not very technical... Well, actually, do laugh, it's good for you!  Wink
Cheers!
20 REPLIES 20
orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Plusnet Alumni (retired)

Re: disconnections / strong winds?

Yes, easily - the wind may be blowing rain into gaps in seals that it would not normally get to, or even stretching wires to the point that contact is actually broken. We can and do get a lot of weather related faults.
Tsonga
Grafter

Thanks for the quick reply, Orbrey!
Glad to know that my instincts were right.  Cool
home99
Grafter

I can virtually tell you the weather report without looking outside my window simply by trying to connect.
Heavy rain equals no connection at all, where as light rain equals slow speeds and regular disconnects.
Unfortunatley it doesnt quite work the other way  Embarrassed
Dave
Mad_Moggies
Rising Star

We used to get fluctuating speeds, occasional disconnections, and a lot of noise on the line in wet'n'windy weather till a nice BT man thoroughly cleaned out the casing at the top of the telephone pole where all the wires are connected and trimmed and reconnected our wires. Water was getting inside the casing and taking a while to drain out on account of all the muck and rubbish (mostly dead spiders and suchlike, the BT chappie said!).
This was after BT swore on several occasions there was nothing wrong with our connection.
PlusNet insisted they investigated properly (ie made a visit to the house to prove it wasn't our internal wiring/equipment that was the cause) and it got fixed.