cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

cheaper alternative routers to asus?

shafiul

cheaper alternative routers to asus?

hi asus routers ive gathered are meant to be really good for fibre optic but they are fairly expensive just wondered if there were cheaper alternatives and obviously better than the plusnet provided router?
thanks
16 REPLIES 16
davidj66
Aspiring Pro
Fixes: 4

Re: cheaper alternative routers to asus?

I've been using a TP-Link router for ~ 11 months on my ADSL2+ connection -stronger wireless signal than any of previous routers and gives my my "full" 16 Mbps. Seems to be a reiable budget make.
They make cable routers such as WDR -3600 N600 -available for ~ £45
Anonymous
Not applicable

I build my own routers from old computer parts that are no longer powerful enough to run a desktop operating system.
You will be astonished at the performance you can get out of a home built router, compared to anything you are likely to consider buying from a shop.
You could start with an old PC with two network cards, a CPU > 1Ghz, and then load it with as much memory as the motherboard can take.
On my current router, I added http caching proxy server software, which has improved some web page loading times by a factor of 25 - compared to an expensive high performance DrayTek router !.
Once you get started the possibilities are endless, as it is very easy to add-in additional free software packages for security, anti-virus, monitoring, etc.
Another advantage of being home built, is that security patches (for example Heartbleed), can be applied almost immediately,  unlike a shop bought router that you may never update and therefore will remain vulnerable to attack.
So if you have an old PC hanging around, you could build an amazing router for almost no money.
rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Fixes: 12

purleigh  , this sounds interesting  Cool
how in basic terms do i go about building a router from scratch ?