cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Worth getting the ASUS RT-N56U 300Mbps Dual Band Wireless N Router?

windsortg
Grafter

Worth getting the ASUS RT-N56U 300Mbps Dual Band Wireless N Router?

I am new to PN and will be getting fibre broadband installed on 1st March. From what I have read on the forum, it looks as though the router provided by PN (the Plusnet Technicolor TG582n Router) has a poor wireless strength. I need good wireless strength through my house (2 story). Would anyone recommend the ASUS RT-N56U 300Mbps Dual Band Wireless N Router over the Technicolor TG582n Router?
Amazon are selling the ASUS router for £80. I am just wondering if it is money worth spending?
35 REPLIES 35
Estragon
Rising Star

Re: Worth getting the ASUS RT-N56U 300Mbps Dual Band Wireless N Router?

There are a few people over here raving about the RT-N66U, which Amazon have at £108.79.
windsortg
Grafter

Thanks for a prompt response but is there anything wrong with the cheaper ASUS RT-N56U? Better than the PN supplied router?
Estragon
Rising Star

I got one of these when I first got FTTC.  Then when I joined Plusnet I tried the Netgear they used to send out, and ditched it.  The when I upgraded to 80/20 I tried the 582N and have ditched that. The wireless on mine is far better than either.
Estragon
Rising Star

Just a thought.
What have you got at the moment? Could there be milege in using the Plusnet 582n as your router and your existing one as a WAP?
tijara33
Pro
Fixes: 6

but is there anything wrong with the cheaper ASUS RT-N56U?

NO!!!!!!  Smiley
I've been using one for 2 months in my 2 storey house & I'm absolutely delighted with it. It doubled my wireless speed & there is now no loss whatsoever. The dual band capability is very useful indeed. It's a great piece of kit & actually looks quite cool. I also bought mine from Amazon so totally fuss free.
Go ahead, treat yourself, you know it makes sense.
adamwalker
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team