cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Website blocked by Plusnet provider

FIXED
Highlighted
Newbie
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎13-09-2018

Website blocked by Plusnet provider

Good afternoon,

Today I need your help, regarding our website who's not reachable from our customers using Plusnet as ISP (pro version).

They can resolve the name but can't reach the site (web page can't be reached).

They tried to ask support about this case, who told them that was related to a lack of DNSSEC but many sites don't use it so we can't be the only one blocked...

We went deeper and see that the SYN paquet comes well from our customers to our server, but they never receive our SYN ACK packet, so the TCP handshake fails. Our traceroute and other investigations show that packets are stopped at their kingston server and wouldnt go any further.

If you have the chance to try, please let me know if you can't reach the landing page: https://uk.symbility.net

Thank you for your help!

Tags (2)
9 REPLIES 9
Highlighted
All Star
Posts: 1,998
Thanks: 228
Fixes: 24
Registered: ‎02-08-2007

Re: Website blocked by Plusnet provider

Highlighted
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 3,958
Thanks: 2,389
Fixes: 16
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Website blocked by Plusnet provider


@Gel wrote:
I arrive at this url
https://uk.symbility.net/Login.aspx?ReturnUrl=%2f

Sadly that doesn't seem to connect via the PN network either.  Undecided

Highlighted
Newbie
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎13-09-2018

Re: Website blocked by Plusnet provider

Thank to both of you for testing.

@Gel, that confirms some customers who use BT network don't have the issue.

@MauriceC and your test confirms that is related to PN network as guessed.

 

The question is, what does PN to block our website (and why BTW)?

Highlighted
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 14,747
Thanks: 2,308
Fixes: 157
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Website blocked by Plusnet provider

Fix

It's due to the issue described here.

jira.innovation-hosting.com and uk.symbility.net both resolve to IP's in the same subnet.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Highlighted
Newbie
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎13-09-2018

Re: Website blocked by Plusnet provider

Hi @bobpullen, so if I well understood, this is related to a routing issue that is already under investigation PN side.

Do you have an ETA for this ticket?

Also, I saw the reference INFOPS-3100 but where could I check is followup as we aren't PN customer?

That being said, thank you very much for your help.

Highlighted
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 14,747
Thanks: 2,308
Fixes: 157
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Website blocked by Plusnet provider

Yes, it's under investigation.

I've asked for somebody to give me a nudge once some progress has been made so will pop back here once things have been sorted.

Can't provide an ETA though I'm afraid as we're dependent on third parties.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Highlighted
Newbie
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎13-09-2018

Re: Website blocked by Plusnet provider

Thank you @bobpullen, we will wait for your feedback over here.

Highlighted
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 14,747
Thanks: 2,308
Fixes: 157
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Website blocked by Plusnet provider

Should be sorted now? Let me know if not.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Highlighted
Newbie
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎13-09-2018

Re: Website blocked by Plusnet provider

Hi @bobpullen!

Our last impacted customer just told us everything is fine now, thanks for your help on that touchy case.

 

Have a great day.