cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using different router

Highlighted
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎20-03-2019

Using different router

Hi. I wa wondering if using a different router can possibly increase the connection speed.

I still have my SkyQ router and was thinking of giving this a try.

5 REPLIES 5
Highlighted
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 1,325
Fixes: 63
Registered: ‎09-10-2018

Re: Using different router

Hi @Bohlar, thanks for your post.

 

Not really - although you may notice a slight increase the speeds generally rely on the line quality and provisioned speed rather than the router.

 

Are you experiencing issues with the speeds you're seeing your side?

Highlighted
Pro
Posts: 863
Thanks: 185
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎22-11-2014

Re: Using different router

I got a 5 meg sync increase when swapping from the PN router to my TG589vac.

Mark

Highlighted
Hero
Posts: 4,480
Thanks: 1,939
Fixes: 130
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Using different router

@Bohlar 

You are unlikely to get a significant inprovement in your connection apeed but if you have a Plusnet Hub Zero router then you would get a far superior wireless connection. 

I don't think that you can use a Sky router unless you flash the firmware. Try searching the Sky forum. What many of us have done is buy a BT Smarthub 6 off Ebay and use that, they are very cheap and have good dual band wireless performance. You need the FTTC version which has four yellow LAN circuits. Avoid the FTTP version, this has a red WAN label fixed to one of the LAN sockets. Setting instructions are here.  https://community.plus.net/t5/My-Router/Using-the-BT-Smarthub-6-on-a-Plusnet-Account/m-p/1587673#M85...

Highlighted
Hero
Posts: 4,174
Thanks: 984
Fixes: 22
Registered: ‎30-07-2008

Re: Using different router


@Marksfish wrote:

I got a 5 meg sync increase when swapping from the PN router to my TG589vac.


That's quite impressive. Do you recall what the actual before and after figures were?

Bee Alert >> Spray safe >> Save hives
Highlighted
Pro
Posts: 863
Thanks: 185
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎22-11-2014

Re: Using different router

Sorry been away. I am currently syncing at 58.16 Mbps, so guess it was around 53 before, but it has been several months. I love my router, I even bought a spare for if anything happens to it. It consistently performed better for me on BT, Vodafone and now PN. Doesn't have as many bells and whistles, but does what I want Smiley