cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Usenet Speeds

ramborobert
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎28-10-2011

Usenet Speeds

Hi ive just got plusnet value fibre and im wondering what speeds i should get from usenet?  I was downloading last nite and could only obtain 50kbs using astra server.
Thanks
7 REPLIES 7
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,773
Thanks: 259
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎16-02-2009

Re: Usenet Speeds

If you look <a href="http://usergroup.plus.net/prodcomp1.php">here</a> and put in value fibre you will see the rates during the day.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,786
Thanks: 987
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Usenet Speeds

...and don't forget that those speeds are bits per second (kbps) whereas most news readers report the speed in bytes (kBps).
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,773
Thanks: 259
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎16-02-2009

Re: Usenet Speeds

True, remember 5Mb/s is 0.5 MB/s (or as near as makes no difference anyway)
ramborobert
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎28-10-2011

Re: Usenet Speeds

oops read your link wrong so i can download full speed between 1am and 7am then?
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,032
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Usenet Speeds

Not really - it just isn't rate limited
Go to http://www.plus.net/support/broadband/speed_guide/traffic_management.shtml and click on How is traffic prioritised? and you will see that Usenet is classified as Best Effort which basically means that if we have any bandwidth left over from the Gold, Silver and higher then it will get it
If you really want to use Usenet a lot you might be better off with the Pro Addon
ramborobert
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎28-10-2011

Re: Usenet Speeds

Hmm that doesnt inspire much confidence at all ill see what kinda speeds i get tonight.
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: ‎16-06-2010

Re: Usenet Speeds

Hi ramborobert,
You could always get the Pro add on which would give you line speed at all times.
Jojo Smiley