cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Upstream speed drop

highfield5
Grafter

Upstream speed drop

Before I enter the dark recesses of the PN problem reporting system I was wondering if anyone had some other self-help suggestions.
I have been using a SamKnows box for a few months now.  Here is the complete trace for the downstream throughput.  It does show a downward trend (and would be worse if I could go back to the time I had fibre installed) but may just be down to more fibre connections on the cab.  In figures the graph goes from 58Mbps to 47Mbps, profile is currently around 52Mbps.
http://www.sunhillow.eu/down.jpg
The upstream is the problem though. The trace shows a big drop, from 15Mbps to 4Mbps, profile is the usual 20Mbps.
http://www.sunhillow.eu/up.jpg
I've tried using the test socket, reterminating the incoming wires (shhh!), rebooting everything a number of times, connecting straight into the modem (eliminating the router and SamKnows box) and testing from a different computer.  After every test a speedtest still shows the lower speeds.  One other symptom is that after an unexpected disconnection, which does seem to happen more often than it ever used to, it sometimes takes a couple of hours to re-sync (stale session maybe?).
One thought was that it might be the BT modem going faulty?  It does seem strange to me though that if it is a line fault, which I suppose it most likely, that the upstream is hit much more badly than the downstream - I would have expected it to be the other way round?
Any suggestions please?
Ian
12 REPLIES 12
chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Fixes: 1

Re: Upstream speed drop

Hi Ian,
I've tested your line and it's identified a potential fault, I've raised this with our suppliers and should hear back within the next 24 hours the progress with this.
I'll update you.

chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Plusnet Alumni (retired)