cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unable to log onto work server from home

Mezzer
Hooked

Unable to log onto work server from home

I've been working from home for around 2 years and suddenly can't log into the work server. The techs from work used remote access to check for problems and could find nothing.  They concluded that the problem must be with Plusnet somehow blocking the port.  To check if this might be true I used wi fi in a local cafe and could log onto the work server fine.  Plusnet deny any problem as they "don't support port forwarding."   If this doesn't get resolved soon I might have to change service provider, as the only way to continue working from home  Any ideas?

12 REPLIES 12
adamwalker
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Fixes: 221

Re: Unable to log onto work server from home

Hi Mezzer, sorry to see there's an issue. I can't think how port forwarding would be relevant to connecting into what I assume is a VPN? So I'm sorry if that's something that the agent you spoke with misunderstood. 

I can make sure we give you a second opinion on this so please feel free to drop a reply to ticket 178096903 on your account with details of what you're trying to connect into and how before dropping us a response back here. 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
Mezzer
Hooked

Thanks. I've just responded.
Mezzer
Hooked

The issue now appears to have been resolved by question 178111484. I spoke to one of your agents and he suggested removing the front plate of the main socket and plugging in a separate ADSL filter. This worked and I can now connect to my work server. 

Thanks

Waz
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Plusnet Alumni (retired)

Thank you for your response.

I have updated the ticket 178096903 on your account and provided the next steps to take to address the issue. Let us know how you get on with this.

Mezzer
Hooked