cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Traffic Management on Value Fibre

Highlighted
Rising Star
Posts: 992
Thanks: 11
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎05-11-2008

Re: Traffic Management on Value Fibre

Whoops, too busy to test between 8 and 10, will try again tonight.
Highlighted
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎06-05-2011

Re: Traffic Management on Value Fibre

I ran 'Speedtest.net' as follows
26/5/11 20.42    d/l 10.65  u/l  1.68
disconnected router and powered off then on again after about 10 minutes
26/5/11 21.02    d/l  10.36  u/l  1.68
26/5/11 22.12    d/l  22.98  u/l  1.68
27/5/11 10.22    d/l  23.96  u/l  1.69  (this is typical 'normal' linespeed on this line)
So maybe another look is required.
best regards
Mike
Highlighted
Rising Star
Posts: 992
Thanks: 11
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎05-11-2008

Re: Traffic Management on Value Fibre

Looks like it hasn't changed then. I'm wondering whether this explains thorpen's query on the "Fibre Speed" thread.
Edit: just seen thorpen's latest reply and it seems not.
Highlighted
Rising Star
Posts: 992
Thanks: 11
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎05-11-2008

Re: Traffic Management on Value Fibre

Right, it's after 8pm and I too can confirm that we are still being throttled to 10Mb. When will it be changed to match the advertised speed of 20Mb?
Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: ‎16-06-2010

Re: Traffic Management on Value Fibre

Hi KevinG,
I'll have to look into that on Tuesday when I get back in the office.
Jojo Smiley
Highlighted
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 12,170
Thanks: 19
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Traffic Management on Value Fibre

Should've taken effect now, it's showing as 20Mbps on the traffic management database.
Dave Tomlinson
Enterprise Architect - Network & OSS
Plusnet Technology
Highlighted
Rising Star
Posts: 992
Thanks: 11
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎05-11-2008

Re: Traffic Management on Value Fibre

Thanks Dave, I'll check it out this evening if I don't get sidetracked.
Highlighted
Rising Star
Posts: 992
Thanks: 11
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎05-11-2008

Re: Traffic Management on Value Fibre

Well it looks like you've cracked it:

I'll carry on checking though, just in case it slips back to its old ways!
Highlighted
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎06-05-2011

Re: Traffic Management on Value Fibre

Yep, me also
I ran 'Speedtest.net' as follows
29/5/11 20.33    d/l 22.97  u/l  1.67
thanks
Mike
Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 164
Registered: ‎27-09-2007

Re: Traffic Management on Value Fibre

I know this may be obvious, have you turned off your router(s) for at least 5 minutes so any changes can be applied?
PN might have changed the management, however a re login could be required to give you the new speeds.
Highlighted
Rising Star
Posts: 992
Thanks: 11
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎05-11-2008

Re: Traffic Management on Value Fibre

I didn't consciously do that before getting the increased speed, although my router was off for some of Saturday. I think it's unlikely that a reconnect would be necessary as it's not an account-specific thing and it's worked for both Mike and me.
Highlighted
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎06-05-2011

Re: Traffic Management on Value Fibre

Just to confirm - the speed increase happened without me doing anything to my router.
(late response because I have been in central europe for the last few days)
I trust the speeds are continuing to be maintained.
Mike