cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sync speed drops when phone in use

AdamGayne

Sync speed drops when phone in use

Hi all,
I am experiencing a strange issue, that when our home phone is in use, my sync speed drops considerably. Once the call is ended, a reboot of the router will bring the sync speed back up to normal.
It only seems to have been happening since we returned from holiday on the 22nd November, during which my router was turned off for the 10 days we were away. I have had a problem previous to this where the sync would drop altogether when the phone was in use, and wouldn't re-sync until the phone was hung up - but this was intermittent, and wouldn't happen every time.
I am plugged directly into the master test socket, and there are NO OTHER sockets in the house, nor any extensions or other additional wiring. We have just this one phone in the house.
I have also changed the microfilter (I'm an IT tech, so have an abundance of these lying around!)
------------------------------------------------------------
Router: ZyXEL P-660HN-T1A
Stats (Current):
D/S Speed: 3275Kb/s
D/S Attenuation: 60.0 db
D/S SNR Margin: 9.9 db
U/S Speed: 864Kb/s
U/S Attenuation: 35.8 db
U/S SNR Margin: 8.9 db
BTW Line Test (Performed 21:45)
Download Speed: 2.68 Mbps
Upload Speed: 0.60 Mbps
Ping Latency: 46.88ms
Line Speed Shown In Member Centre:
Estimated line speed:
    Not recorded (service activated before we introduced estimates).
Current line speed:
    2.8 Mb
Stats (When phone in use):
D/S Speed: 165Kb/s
D/S Attenuation: 59.0 db
D/S SNR Margin: 8.0 db
U/S Speed: 864Kb/s
U/S Attenuation: 34.9 db
U/S SNR Margin: 7.5 db
BTW Line Test: Gave up waiting for the page to load!
------------------------------------------------------------