cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sudden Slowdown

theoule
Grafter
Posts: 81
Registered: ‎31-07-2007

Sudden Slowdown

Speed has dropped dramatically over last 2 days.
Last december I was getting 3981.9kbps. Over the last 3 days I've been getting
03-08-2007 10:06:45 471.2
03-08-2007 08:29:06 470.3
02-08-2007 18:27:29 128.5
02-08-2007 11:50:10 131.8
02-08-2007 11:33:11 130
02-08-2007 11:27:54 130
01-08-2007 17:20:45 132.2
This is on the F9 speed test.
I've started the faultfinder, and done some BT tests.
Restults as follows.
Assured Rate IP profile on your line is - 135 kbps
    Actual IP throughput achieved during the test was - 96 kbps
08:15 2/08
Assured Rate IP profile on your line is - 135 kbps
    Actual IP throughput achieved during the test was - 87 kbps
11:36 2/08
    Assured Rate IP profile on your line is - 135 kbps
    Actual IP throughput achieved during the test was - 80 kbps

Assured Rate IP profile on your line is - 135 kbps
    Actual IP throughput achieved during the test was - 104 kbps
10:05 3/08
Assured Rate IP profile on your line is - 750 kbps
    Actual IP throughput achieved during the test was - 442 kbps
Before I take the faultfinding further, I just looked at my connection settings and noticed my high speed broadband page
Your current broadband speed is 500 Kbps.
I thought I was on the high speed up to 8 Meg.
Has my speed been reduced by F9?
I'm on an old legacy package of PAYG broadband.
I've tried connecting to the incoming BT socket, and used a different router.
Same result.

12 REPLIES 12
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: ‎18-07-2007

Re: Sudden Slowdown

This will be due to your line profile at the exchange dropping, probably due to noise on the line. This may be a fault but also may well be down to you plugging something new into the line, or a microfilter at your premises failing. If your ADSL equipment ha now resynced at the higher speed your speed should update over the next couple of days, but if not there will still be something causing interference. If this is the case:
Unplug all non-ADSL items  (phones, faxes, sky boxes etc) and plug the router directly (no extension cables etc) into the master socket. If the sync speed doesn't improve when reconnecting then it is likely to be a line fault and this should be reported to us at http://faults.force9.net in order that we can investigate this for you.
Hope this helps,
theoule
Grafter
Posts: 81
Registered: ‎31-07-2007

Re: Sudden Slowdown

Quote from: orbrey

Unplug all non-ADSL items  (phones, faxes, sky boxes etc) and plug the router directly (no extension cables etc) into the master socket. If the sync speed doesn't improve when reconnecting then it is likely to be a line fault and this should be reported to us at http://faults.force9.net in order that we can investigate this for you.
Hope this helps,

Yes thanks, I tried this yesterday, with the results I already posted.
However, I'm puzzled that my Bt speedtest results don't mention
a DSL connection rate. 
I've been looking through other posts, and others using the test seem to get more information than I do.
Where is this other info?
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: ‎18-07-2007

Re: Sudden Slowdown

Can you post a screenshot of what you have in order that we can see? Also, as you're on Max you'll need to do the speedtest at http://www.speedtester.bt.com instead of just http://speedtester.bt.com - perhaps this will make the difference.
Hope this helps,
theoule
Grafter
Posts: 81
Registered: ‎31-07-2007

Re: Sudden Slowdown

Quote from: orbrey
Can you post a screenshot of what you have in order that we can see? Also, as you're on Max you'll need to do the speedtest at http://www.speedtester.bt.com instead of just http://speedtester.bt.com - perhaps this will make the difference.
Hope this helps,

This is from http://www.speedtester.bt.com/
screen clip attached. (I hope)
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: ‎18-07-2007

Re: Sudden Slowdown

I'll just run a quick line test for you, hang on a tic.
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: ‎18-07-2007

Re: Sudden Slowdown

Hmmm.
BIP Interface Data 
  Current line rate Line rate change timestamp Maximum Stable Rate Recalcuated ProfileTimestamp Maximum Stable Rate Fault Threshold Rate Interleaving Flag
750 2007-08-03T01:43:29 N 2006-12-16T22:26:04 2848 1993 I


The 750 and the 1993 are the figures that interest us here. 750 (kbit/s) is the speed you are in sync at. 1993 (kbit/s) is the slowest speed BT think you should sync at. As such we have a fault that can be raised immediately, as soon as the testing on the fault ticket you have raised is done I'll post this information and get it raised for you.
theoule
Grafter
Posts: 81
Registered: ‎31-07-2007

Re: Sudden Slowdown

Quote from: orbrey
Hmmm.
BIP Interface Data   
  Current line rate Line rate change timestamp Maximum Stable Rate Recalcuated ProfileTimestamp Maximum Stable Rate Fault Threshold Rate Interleaving Flag
750 2007-08-03T01:43:29 N 2006-12-16T22:26:04 2848 1993 I


The 750 and the 1993 are the figures that interest us here. 750 (kbit/s) is the speed you are in sync at. 1993 (kbit/s) is the slowest speed BT think you should sync at. As such we have a fault that can be raised immediately, as soon as the testing on the fault ticket you have raised is done I'll post this information and get it raised for you.

Thanks for that.
I haven't  completed the fault check process yet, I've yet to start the connection check.
Should I continue with it?
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: ‎18-07-2007

Re: Sudden Slowdown

Definitely. You have a fault, and we can't raise it until all the checks have been completed.
theoule
Grafter
Posts: 81
Registered: ‎31-07-2007

Re: Sudden Slowdown

Quote from: orbrey
Definitely. You have a fault, and we can't raise it until all the checks have been completed.

Just got the result
"The results of our tests show no fault with your broadband connection. Completed speed tests show that your connection speed is: none found
According to BT, this speed is within the limits of acceptable performance for broadband service."
So, no fault found 😞


Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: ‎18-07-2007

Re: Sudden Slowdown

That's because unfortunately the automated checks that are run (BT checks) don't tend to pick up on speed issues. I'll pass this one back to the faults team for you, apologies for the hassle.
theoule
Grafter
Posts: 81
Registered: ‎31-07-2007

Re: Sudden Slowdown

Quote from: orbrey
That's because unfortunately the automated checks that are run (BT checks) don't tend to pick up on speed issues. I'll pass this one back to the faults team for you, apologies for the hassle.

Thanks!
Will this get taken up in my question?
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: ‎18-07-2007

Re: Sudden Slowdown

If you mean specifically your slow speed issues, yes they will. If you mean the tests not picking up slow speed issues in general, no though this is already under investigation for the next version of the faults tool.
Hope this helps,