cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Stuck at 128kbps

Denzil
Grafter
Posts: 1,733
Registered: ‎31-07-2007

Re: Stuck at 128kbps

Woohoo! As of this morning it has gone back up to 720kbps Cheesy Pity it took two weeks to come back up. Out of interest, was it something PN did to bring it back or was it all down to the BT gear finally waking up?
Denzil
Grafter
Posts: 1,733
Registered: ‎31-07-2007

Re: Stuck at 128kbps

Nooooooooo! Cry Straight back down to 128kbps today.
Extract from the router log since the last reboot on Thursday:
Thu, 2008-04-17 17:19:45 - Router start up
Thu, 2008-04-17 21:44:37 - LCP down.
Thu, 2008-04-17 21:50:44 - Initialize LCP.
Thu, 2008-04-17 21:50:44 - LCP is allowed to come up.
Thu, 2008-04-17 21:50:51 - CHAP authentication success
Thu, 2008-04-17 21:56:14 - Administrator login successful - IP:192.168.0.64
Sat, 2008-04-19 20:36:43 - Administrator login successful - IP:192.168.0.64
Sun, 2008-04-20 14:48:51 - LCP down.
Sun, 2008-04-20 14:49:02 - Initialize LCP.
Sun, 2008-04-20 14:49:02 - LCP is allowed to come up.
Sun, 2008-04-20 14:49:09 - CHAP authentication success
Sun, 2008-04-20 15:21:51 - Send out NTP request to time-g.netgear.com
Sun, 2008-04-20 15:22:53 - Send out NTP request to time-h.netgear.com
Sun, 2008-04-20 15:22:55 - Receive NTP Reply from time-h.netgear.com
Sun, 2008-04-20 18:17:47 - Administrator login successful - IP:192.168.0.64
So it seems to have lost the connection earlier today, but surely one dropout shouldn't be enough to cause this?
paulby
Grafter
Posts: 1,619
Registered: ‎27-07-2007

Re: Stuck at 128kbps

One drop out is all it takes! Especially if you resynced at a low rate... Looks like you're back in the 3 day wait.
If you're line is dropping continually and there's no obvious cause, it may be worth asking PN to put you back onto a fixed rate 1Meg rather than Max and see if your line is more stable.  (You're not getting any more than that anyway on Max)
Denzil
Grafter
Posts: 1,733
Registered: ‎31-07-2007

Re: Stuck at 128kbps

Yes, I know Max can be unstable, especially on long lines, so going back to a fixed rate was always a possibility. I was on 512K before and I had assumed that is all I would get. Still, the line checker on www.kitz.co.uk seems to think I can get 1Mb on a fixed rate. I would just like to be sure there isn't an easily solveable problem somewhere before taking a possibly backwards step. We'll see.