cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Speed

Highlighted
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎21-05-2009

Speed

Advice please I have had problems with connection over the past month which Plusnet have confirmed is Bt line issue
while I no longer lose connection I wish to check my speed
broadband speed check says
Download 461kbps
373kbps upload
I can no longer use I Player for example - is this speed reasonable - I have no idea
I tried using the BT speed check as you advised but having entered my telephone number they ask for login name and I have tried everything I can think of to no avail
please advice
mabinogion Smiley
11 REPLIES 11
Highlighted
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,033
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Speed

The first thing we need are the stats from your router - attenuation, noise margin and speeds. This will explain how to get them http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/frogstats.php
Also the results from this https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed
We will address the BT speed test later if necessary
Highlighted
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎21-05-2009

Re: Speed

I hope this is what you need
System Up Time 244:25:08
Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
WAN PPPoA 111505 189384 0 402 9097 07:35:28
LAN 10M/100M 1625719 1081692 0 2038 163 244:25:04
WLAN 54M 17219 0 0 20 0 244:24:54
ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
Connection Speed 800 kbps 448 kbps
Line Attenuation 54 db 15.5 db
Noise Margin 6 db 16 db
High-speed Broadband
________________________________________
Estimated line speed:
Not recorded (service activated before we introduced estimates).
Current line speed:
500
Your estimated line speed
If we've done a line check for you, we provide an estimate of the broadband speed that your line should support.
Please see above for the 'Estimate line speed'.
Highlighted
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,107
Thanks: 450
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: Speed

Yep, those are the right figures. That is truly awful. Those downstream figures should be a lot better.
As your modem/router has been on continuously for 244+ hrs, I suggest you switch it off for half an hour.
When you switch back on, grab a set of stats immediately after sync and post them.
Further advice to follow in due course.
Highlighted
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎21-05-2009

Re: Speed

Thanks - Plusnet say they are monitoring my line so I have raised a ticket and as soon as they confirm I can turn router of I will do as you ask
many thanks  Wink
Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Speed

Hiya,
There won't be a problem if you do a sneaky reboot Smiley
Highlighted
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎21-05-2009

Re: Speed

HI Back again
plus net say BT can find nothing wrong so I have disconnected everything as you requested and here are the results once more
Estimated line speed:is now 750 not 500
Router
System Up Time 00:14:11
Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
WAN PPPoA 3221 3850 0 610 4763 00:12:42
LAN 10M/100M 3879 3379 0 4351 703 00:14:07
WLAN 54M 146 0 0 69 0 00:13:57
ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
Connection Speed 896 kbps 448 kbps
Line Attenuation 55 db 15.5 db
Noise Margin 10 db 16 db
Broadband speed test
D 492 u 363
Please advice I don't know what to do I am barely on the net and have lost my network
Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 1,733
Registered: ‎31-07-2007

Re: Speed

The next to check, if you haven't already, is to unscrew the bottom half of your BT master socket (assuming you have a modern one). Inside you will find another socket. This is the test socket. Connect your router here and post the new figures. This process removes your internal wiring from the equation, so if the figures improve you know something is wrong with your wiring or filter. Can you get hold of a different router to check if yours is faulty?
Highlighted
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,107
Thanks: 450
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: Speed

Hang on
Quote
Please advice I don't know what to do I am barely on the net and have lost my network

This sounds like you may have a modem/router problem. If you haven't got a spare to try, borrow one. Try this first before fiddling with everything else.
One thing you need to be very careful of with all this swap this, swap that, plug in the test socket etc. is not to give the exchange DLM the idea you have a line problem. You should therefore power down your modem/router and wait several minutes before unplugging the master faceplate, filter, line to the modem etc. Try to avoid doing this more than about 5 times in an hour then I'd suggest leave it alone for the rest of the day.
Highlighted
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎21-05-2009

Re: Speed

Hi there
• BT master socket would you believe it is in my roof space  which is huge and full of fibre glass insulation
• I am disabled so I will need to get a young agile computer engineer to do these tests
• I have a spare router Netgear DG834(G).  and I don’t think there is anything wrong with it
[One thing you need to be very careful of with all this swap this, swap that, plug in the test socket etc. is not to give the exchange DLM the idea you have a line problem. You should therefore power down your modem/router and wait several minutes before unplugging the master faceplate, filter, line to the modem etc. Try to avoid doing this more than about 5 times in an hour then I'd suggest leave it alone for the rest of the day]
Thanks for that tip I think I have already been sent to Outer Mongolia
MY speed fluctuates between
Broadband speed test
D 492 u 363
D 707 kbps  u 367kbp
Today D 461 kbps (57.6kB/s) U 369 kbps (46.1kB/s)
This morning line speed has dropped again to 500 it was 750 last night
Can you tell me if it is meant to fluctuate like this
When I have done the tests you requested I will post again thanks for you support
Mabinogion 
PS I have my network back my fault new firewall issue!!
Highlighted
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,736
Thanks: 13
Registered: ‎02-02-2008

Re: Speed

Quote from: mabinogion
• BT master socket would you believe it is in my roof space  which is huge and full of fibre glass insulation
• I am disabled so I will need to get a young agile computer engineer to do these tests

You should be able to persuade BT to move it for free; cite the DDA if they get difficult.  Cool
Highlighted
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,107
Thanks: 450
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: Speed

Just try your other router first, save all the fuss unless it's essential & no it shouldn't fluctuate like that.