cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Speed

pkw
Rising Star
Posts: 115
Thanks: 18
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎14-04-2017

Speed

My broadband speeds are usually just below 3 Mbps which is fine, but once in a while (every week or so?) it will mysteriously drop to around 0.25 Mbps. Last time I spoke to an agent who "adjusted noise" on my line. It's been ok for a while but happened again just now. It went back to ok after I restarted the router. Is there something that can be done to keep my line speed consistent? (I've been through test socket procedure a couple of times too before). Thanks.

27 REPLIES 27
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 14,290
Thanks: 4,456
Fixes: 726
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Speed

Hi there.

Our tests aren't showing any definitive causes however I can see your line is restricted to a speed of 3mbps and there are errors on the upstream side of your connection, the last part is sometimes indicative of a failing router.

Do you have another router you can try? If you're still having issues I'd head on over to http://faults.plus.net to report a fault to us as we'd need to arrange an engineer visit to investigate this further. Let us know how it goes.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
pkw
Rising Star
Posts: 115
Thanks: 18
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎14-04-2017

Re: Speed

Thanks @Gandalf.

 

I am using a TalTalk router which has served me for 6 years now. I'll see if I can get my hands on a different router, if not I think I'll have to order one from Plusnet.

 

P.

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 14,290
Thanks: 4,456
Fixes: 726
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Speed

Ah fair, I'd be happy to send you a free router if you don't have a spare one at hand?

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
pkw
Rising Star
Posts: 115
Thanks: 18
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎14-04-2017

Re: Speed

Yes please, that would be fab, thank you.

Do I need to send you my details via pm?

 

P.

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 14,290
Thanks: 4,456
Fixes: 726
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Speed

No problem, no need to PM your details. We've logged them from the last time you PM'd them over.

I've got a new router ordered now and you should receive it within the next few days.

Let us know how it goes.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
pkw
Rising Star
Posts: 115
Thanks: 18
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎14-04-2017

Re: Speed

Thanks again. I'll let you know if there are any issues.

 

P.

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 14,290
Thanks: 4,456
Fixes: 726
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Speed

Cool. No problem Smiley

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
pkw
Rising Star
Posts: 115
Thanks: 18
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎14-04-2017

Re: Speed

Hi @Gandalf ,

 

Received the new router yesterday. Set it up, all looked fine and speed was satisfactory.

 

However, this morning I am having very slow speeds again, first couple of measurements showed around 0.15 Mbps, now around 0.7 Mbps. Any ideas?

 

Thanks.

 

edit: now seems to have climbed to 2.75. :huh:

Highlighted
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 14,599
Thanks: 364
Fixes: 102
Registered: ‎27-04-2007

Re: Speed

Hi there, 

 

I've just had a look into this and line tests results don't indicate a fault or any other obvious causes for that so it would be a good idea to report a fault as your next step: http://faults.plus.net

 

Drop us another reply here when you have please. 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
pkw
Rising Star
Posts: 115
Thanks: 18
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎14-04-2017

Re: Speed

I have tried the troubleshooter and with all 3 measurements the speed looked ok. Should I repeat them again at different times over a couple of days to see if I get lower speeds? I'm connected to the test socket now.

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 14,599
Thanks: 364
Fixes: 102
Registered: ‎27-04-2007

Re: Speed

Yes, that would be a good idea. Let us know how you get on. 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
pkw
Rising Star
Posts: 115
Thanks: 18
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎14-04-2017

Re: Speed

Ok, so I went through the troubleshooter and reported the fault. Got a response thet you corrected some fault on my line, and that I should monitor the speed and if it's still too low, I should try connecting to test socket, trying different micro-filters, router, etc. As I have just been sent a new router etc, I've already done that. The speed is still varying and at times very low. What can be done?

screencapture-speedtest-btwholesale-2019-07-23-10_59_52.png

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 448
Thanks: 43
Fixes: 18
Registered: ‎06-08-2018

Re: Speed

Hi @pkw,

 

I'm sorry to hear that. Can you advise whether the speed test you have done there is actually hard wired via Ethernet?

 

Thanks - LF

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
  Tahir M
 Plusnet Help Team
pkw
Rising Star
Posts: 115
Thanks: 18
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎14-04-2017

Re: Speed

Hi,

 

No, it's over wifi. I have no easy way to connect over Enthernet as my desktop pc is located too far from router and my laptop hasn't got an Ethernet port. But I have no reason to think there's a problem with wifi.

 

edit: managed to stretch the cables across the room and connect via Ethernet. Will do several more tests and update here.

 

P.