cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

So Many Static IP's.

FIXED
Highlighted
Xanadu_2
Hooked
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎07-02-2018

So Many Static IP's.

Hello, everyone!

 

At one time, Dynamic ip's were the norm, but recently I have noticed an increase in Static ip's being issued when I connect to the Internet. Is there any reason for this change, because I think you normally have to request a Static ip and some Internet providers will charge for this service.

 

Thanks.

10 REPLIES
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,689
Thanks: 667
Fixes: 167
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: So Many Static IP's.

I have noticed an increase in Static ip's being issued when I connect to the Internet.

 

Can I ask where/how you've seen this increase?

If you have a static IP, it will *never* change when you disconnect/reconnect.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 7,080
Thanks: 1,078
Fixes: 67
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: So Many Static IP's.

IP's are now 'sticky' in that Dynamic ones are allocated from smaller 'regional' pools as I understand it. So there's far more chance of getting the same IP again. In fact it's advised to disconnect fro about an hour or more to get a reasonable chance of a new IP.

Xanadu_2
Hooked
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎07-02-2018

Re: So Many Static IP's.

I use this website to check: https://whatismyipaddress.com/

ScreenShot_static-ip.png

 

I always switch my modem off at night (trying to keep the electric bills small), but when I reconnect the next day, I usually get another static IP... like today. (see image)

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,689
Thanks: 667
Fixes: 167
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: So Many Static IP's.

Fix

It's not a static IP, that you're getting a new one each day when you connect is proof of that. It's most likely that the site you're checking them on is mis-reporting.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
Xanadu_2
Hooked
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎07-02-2018

Re: So Many Static IP's.

So, basically, don't believe everything you see/read on the Internet... It's all "fake news!".

 

Here is another screenshot from a different website.

ScreenShot_Fixed-ip.png

 

Thanks for your help.

Baldrick1
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,156
Thanks: 941
Fixes: 70
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: So Many Static IP's.


@Xanadu_2 wrote:

 

 

I always switch my modem off at night (trying to keep the electric bills small), but when I reconnect the next day, I usually get another static IP... like today. (see image)


This article concludes that switching off a Plus Zero router for 8 hours per day rather than leaving it idling saves you about 10p per month. https://www.ispreview.co.uk/index.php/2017/01/energy-usage-uk-home-broadband-routers-big-isps-compar....

If you think about it you can't pick up a different static IP address each time you connect. I have a static address and it's not changed from the day I obtained it.

Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 7,080
Thanks: 1,078
Fixes: 67
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: So Many Static IP's.

This article concludes that switching off a Plus Zero router for 8 hours per day rather than leaving it idling saves you about 10p per month

and probably shortens the  life of the router so that you need to replace it earlier, at a cost well in excess of any savjngs

Xanadu_2
Hooked
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎07-02-2018

Re: So Many Static IP's.


@Xanadu_2 wrote:

I always switch my modem off at night (trying to keep the electric bills small)...


 

I should have also mentioned that I get paranoid about leaving electrical devices switched on overnight. Grin

 

Anyway, thanks for all your input.

jab1
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 2,315
Thanks: 640
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: So Many Static IP's.

Just an observation, @Xanadu_2, but do you have a fridge/freezer you turn off overnight, too?Smiley

John
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,753
Thanks: 962
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: So Many Static IP's.

I'm wondering if the problem is that the address range 146.200.41.* is designated as a static and not a dynamic range when things like spam blocking look it up?

We've seen the reverse situation on here many times (a user has a fixed IP from Plusnet but can't send mail direct to some systems as their IP is designated as being part of a dynamic range).

jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)