cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Security - Thomson 4 port wireless router

ogawd
Grafter

Security - Thomson 4 port wireless router

I have a security issue I'd like your thoughts on. I am new to broadband and to Plusnet. I'm on option 1 - 2GB monthly limit.
On the 2nd day of using Plusnet, I noticed an excessive usage. This has been identified as an unaccounted 149MB between 9-10am. I was web browsing at that time, and no automatic updates are enabled. My normal web browsing would not account for 149MB in an hour.
I have an ethernet cable connection, but at the time wireless was enabled. I did not realise that wireless was enabled by default. I have now disabled wireless.
What I want to find out is whether someone was using my wireless connection whilst I was connected via ethernet cable. I was running Windows XP at the time with Zonealarm firewall and AVG antivirus. Spybot revealed no issues.
Is there a problem with the intrusion via the router or with Windows XP?

33 REPLIES 33
pierre_pierre
Grafter

Re: Security - Thomson 4 port wireless router

if you did not have either Wep (not very secure) or WPA enabled, any one could be using your link and you would not know it.  my portable battery netbook tell me all the routers close by and what their level of security is.  Surprising the number of open links there are.  - Not that I would use them  Roll_eyes its against missuse of Phone regulations  Grin

When you say you now have wireless disabled - in the Router I hope - it is apparently an option on the Thompson router, I havnt as I have two laptops one ethernet one wireless
spraxyt
Resting Legend
Fixes: 75

The Thomson 4-port routers supplied by Plusnet have WPA-PSK wireless security enabled by default, so illicit usage should not be a problem.
David
Wheel_nut
Grafter