cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SNR/Connection speed wobble.

jab1
Hero
Posts: 3,135
Thanks: 991
Fixes: 19
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: SNR/Connection speed wobble.

Kevin, thanks for your quick reply.

I will answer later - need to be out by 0930 this morning.

John
jab1
Hero
Posts: 3,135
Thanks: 991
Fixes: 19
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: SNR/Connection speed wobble.


@Townman wrote:

Hi John,

There is some possibility that the DSLAM just did its own thing here.  Aside from the transients, your line looks fairly stable at 12dB therefore an attempt to change the target SNRM is not entirely unexpected … but your line should have been glued to 12dB.

That said, there has been some marked variability in the US SNRM, which was a key characteristic of your line earlier.  I think it would be very helpful if you can get the FEC monitoring working please.  You might also care to lose the average line as they add nothing to the story.  Can you please check the axis settings on all graphs to ensure that both US and DS values are plotted on both the SNRM and sync speed plots. 

How well do you know  your neighbours?  Is there any chance of you getting RS monitoring set up with them to monitor their lines as well as your own?  Seeing the issue on several lines in the area might be helpful in seeking to get BTOR "out of bed" on this one.  If this is viable, you could look at using a shared drop box folder as the storage location for the graphs … so you can see what is happening without needing to go visit them every day.

Who is the local power supplier?  Have you put a report into the local power network supplier advising that you suspect that their equipment might be interfering with telecommunications services?  I have found SPEN (in my area) to be exceedingly helpful.

@RandallFlagg @LordFoul @Mads 

Could answers be provided please to the technical questions asked a few posts back please?

What are the next steps on this please?  A BT engineer visit has been suggested, but even if you can get a REIN specialist on the case unless they are prepared to attend through the night, there is very little chance of locating the cause of the interference.


Right, @Townman Now I've sorted an unrelated but annoying problem, I'll try and answer your very interesting and helpful post.:smiley:

I suspect, bearing in mind when the change occurred on Saturday morning, it was due to the undocumented changes carried out by the CS when I didn't follow my usual 'turn everything off and start again' practice, but instead called PN as the problem only appeared to be connection to the internet -everything else worked OK, so I - wrongly - assumed it was a network-wide problem.

As to getting the FEC data, I assume that means installing the full RS program? A couple of questions - can I leave RSL installed? I have read your installation guide, but I am guessing that was for a Netgear router - I suspect/hope I can just follow that, substituting the TG582n data as required? I will try and 'lose' the average line if I can remember how.

So far as I can tell, the axis settings are correct for plotting as suggested.

I know both of my neighbours with internet connections very well. Unfortunately, one of them is a 70 year-old lady who only lets her own IT guy anywhere near her setup and TBH I don't want to have to try and explain things to her. From experience,I would get nowhere. My other neighbour is on SKY and although she is much more tech savvy, I don't know how much we could set up monitoring-wise on her equipment. Nice though, though.

My local network supplier is Northern Powergrid, but I have to admit I wouldn't know where to start.:embarrassed:

I shall await your response before doing anything further.

EDIT: 'Average' plot now lost.

John
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 14,623
Thanks: 5,640
Fixes: 32
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: SNR/Connection speed wobble.

Both versions of router stats can coexist but should not be run concurrently.

The instructions might well refer to NG settings but IIRC they are similar for the TG582n or indeed work for the TG582n.

As for Power Grid just ring their customer service / faults department and explain that you are seeing REIN interference with your internet service during the night. Ask if it could be caused by something happening in the sun station. Tell them that you have weeks of event history and can provide dates and times of such events. That should start a dialogue.

@NickyM - in spite of a couple of tags, this topic looks as though it might have dropped out of LSR ... could you please check for us please?
jab1
Hero
Posts: 3,135
Thanks: 991
Fixes: 19
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: SNR/Connection speed wobble.

Thanks for that info, Kevin. I'll install RS sometime tomorrow. I would never run them both together - I know it's a while since I had any active network experience, but I do remember you don't run two versions/editions of the same program together.:wink:

I'll also try ringing Northern Powergrid - nothing ventured, nothing gained.:smiley:

John
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 14,623
Thanks: 5,640
Fixes: 32
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: SNR/Connection speed wobble.

AFAIK both will run together without too much trouble, but they will hammer the router's admin interfaces, thereby losing metric data … leading to false zero plots!

Ask if it could be caused by something happening in the sun station

SUB station!

A combination of typing on the phone … and the unforgiving limited editing time!

Highlighted
jab1
Hero
Posts: 3,135
Thanks: 991
Fixes: 19
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: SNR/Connection speed wobble.

I still wouldn't run both together though - for the reason you state, and because I see no reason to do so - extra unnecessary strain on the computor, too.

I realised you meant sub-station - unfortunately, I haven't got solar power yet.:smiley:

John
jab1
Hero
Posts: 3,135
Thanks: 991
Fixes: 19
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: SNR/Connection speed wobble.

@Townman Kevin, sorry to keep asking questions, but I like to try and get things right first time.

In your very comprehensive set-up guide there a couple of thing I  would like to query?

What is the effect of ticking/unticking the 'Adjust axis auto'?

Bearing mind my current D/S SNR level, should the max be set to 15?

John
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 14,623
Thanks: 5,640
Fixes: 32
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: SNR/Connection speed wobble.

Generally auto axis can mean that Graph to graph the max value on the Y axis changes so that comparing graph to graph is more difficult.

Also an exceptional value event might make the norm indiscernible.
jab1
Hero
Posts: 3,135
Thanks: 991
Fixes: 19
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: SNR/Connection speed wobble.

Kevin - tried setting up RouterStats this morning, but I shouldn't have -brain was not quite with it after a bad night, and I did something wrong, so the plots didn't look quite right. I have deleted it all and will try again after a good nights sleep.

One other question - is it possible to set a notification area icon for RS, so I can check SNR at a glance?

John
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 14,623
Thanks: 5,640
Fixes: 32
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: SNR/Connection speed wobble.

Try SETTINGS > System Tab > Minimise to system tray

That will show in the system tray with SNRM on the icon.

jab1
Hero
Posts: 3,135
Thanks: 991
Fixes: 19
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: SNR/Connection speed wobble.

Told you I was tired - I knew it was there, just couldn't see it.:embarrassed:

John
jab1
Hero
Posts: 3,135
Thanks: 991
Fixes: 19
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: SNR/Connection speed wobble.

@Townman RouterStats (Full) set up and running as of ~1730 - hope I've done it right!

Couple more points - the minimum poll time is 10 seconds, so I've set 'points per page' to 720. If I remember correctly, you mentioned setting an alarm and 'auto-restart' if RS 'lost the plot' - can't see where, unless I'm suffering from data overload :smiley:

One final thing for now - you mentioned setting one of the user-defined graphs to collect attenuation data - how easy is it or can you give my failing brain a guide?

Thanks as always for your help.

John
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 29
Thanks: 87
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎26-02-2018

Re: SNR/Connection speed wobble.

@Townman Apologies i was off last week. Let me know if you need any further support as im back in the office this week Smiley

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 NickyM
 Plusnet Help Team
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 14,623
Thanks: 5,640
Fixes: 32
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: SNR/Connection speed wobble.

@NickyM

Welcome back. There’s posts on here as far back as #57 asking for staff input which have not been picked up. Trying to see if there’s any info in the depths of BTs systems which might give hints to what’s happening ... might be done to eliminate the issues reported.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 29
Thanks: 87
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎26-02-2018

Re: SNR/Connection speed wobble.

Thanks @Townman for bringing this to my attention. @Gandalf please can you review this and keep me in the loop Smiley

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 NickyM
 Plusnet Help Team