cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Router drops on incoming call

Gw3xjc
Dabbler

Router drops on incoming call

Hi ! I’m a newbie and a retired engineer who worked for Siemens for many years on cctv .
My partner had a new line put in with BT last Tuesday and contract for with plusnet for internet provider.
So there have been a few drop outs with the router indicating with the classic orange light. Having said that is has been quite stable since the install of five days ago. However, I made a discovery last night which on my research seems to be common. I tried ringing in last night and the router dropped its connection. I tried this half a dozen times and sure enough it dropped out every time. The router was then stable for the rest of the evening.
Now , it’s a new installation and I really need to get this sorted. The BT line comes into the house into a main socket.The engineer said to me his advice was to use that socket as a junction box unless I particularly wanted it live. Thus I don’t have the facility to remove the face place isolating every thing else . It’s wired straight through to a new socket downstairs with built in filter, the cable is new. I’ve read and tried an extra filter to no avail. My research tells me it could be a high resistance on the Bt line, poor or corroded connection etc
I need some advice on how to tackle this as I don’t want to get into a to and fro thing over many weeks. Ideally I would like BT to check the line physically back to the local fibre box , connections , jelly crimps etc. When I ring plus net I don’t want to be told check this, replace the filter, could be a faulty faceplate etc, it’s a complete new install from the BT pole to the router.
What is your advice
Roger
27 REPLIES 27
Alex
Community Veteran
Fixes: 13

Re: Router drops on incoming call

I think the only thing you can do is test the test socket, which means taking off the faceplate off the master socket.