cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Router dodgy?

JeremyP99
Grafter
Posts: 25
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎08-09-2016

Router dodgy?

2704n on ADSL. Speeds drop over time, latency spikes, and once a week a reboot is the only way to get things going again. he pinned guide on routers lists sites you can check them on (https://kitz.co.uk/adsl) but there is no entry for the Plusnet 2704n router, so it's totally useless. Great. Please advise. We also  get DNS problems ("resolving host for a long time on Chrome status bar) all the time. 

 

Can anyone recommend a better straightforward router? Don't need funky stuff - just one that works. 

 

Three PCs suffer this, all hard-wired, as the wireless on this router is desperately bad. 

4 REPLIES 4
Highlighted
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 11,586
Thanks: 3,537
Fixes: 577
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Router dodgy?

Sorry to hear you're having issues.

Upon testing your line the signal to noise margin looks too low generating errors which is likely the cause for the speed drops and latency spikes you're seeing. I've made a change to this setting now, let us know how it goes over 24-48 hours.

Here's a copy of our testing if you're interested:

 

xDSL Status Check
Circuit ID: CBUK00000000 Service ID: BBEU00000000
Telephone NO.: NA Test Executed On: 05-02-2019 16:23:28
xDSL Status Test Summary
Sync Status: Circuit In Sync
General Information
NTE Status:   NTE Power Status: PowerOn Bypass Status:  
 
  Upstream DSL Link Information Downstream DSL Link Information
Loop Loss: 13.5 29.0
SNR Margin: 6.0 3.1
Errored Seconds: 0 14
HEC Errors: 0  
Cell Count: 60345641 6662948
Speed: 1259 19067
 
Maximum Stable Rate (KBPS): 17024 Fault Threshold Rate (KBPS): 13619
Mean Time Between Retrains (Seconds): 86400 Mean Time Between Errors Upstream (Seconds): 1414
Indicative Line Quality: A Mean Time Between Errors Downstream (Seconds): 66
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
JeremyP99
Grafter
Posts: 25
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎08-09-2016

Re: Router dodgy?

Thanks for that - i'll keep an eye on how things are and confirm 

 

Jeremy

Jonpe
Champion
Posts: 2,192
Thanks: 613
Fixes: 8
Registered: ‎05-09-2016

Re: Router dodgy?

Several members of this forum speak highly of the BT Home Hub (5 or 6) which you can use with PN, and I understand they can be obtained quite cheaply on eBay.  Excellent wi-fi I hear.

JeremyP99
Grafter
Posts: 25
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎08-09-2016

Re: Router dodgy?

Thank you! I think I will try that, as I really do NOT rate this router, and always end up rebooting it trwo or three times a week to get things going again.

 

 

Many thanks

 

Jeremy