cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Router Trouble

MrGreenGenes

Router Trouble

So, there I was, all excited as I'd just got the text telling me I was hooked up and ready to go.  Everything was wired up and with trembling hands I fired up Firefox on my laptop ... and the connection dropped out.  It wasn't even as though I was looking at any dodgy sites (unless you consider the BBC news to be suspect).  The service took a few minutes to regenerate itself and then I tried email instead.  Same result.
Next I tried the wire connected desktop.  Perfect.  Maybe, I thought, it's because the wireless connection needs a little while to settle down.  No, the laptop still knackered everything, several hours later.
Finally, I unpacked the wireless extender I've been using for the last several years and plugged that into the Plusnet router.  Lo and behold, perfection (well, nearly - there is a minor problem with Linux, my laptop and hibernation but I know all about that).  So, I am left with the only conclusion possible.  The wireless router provided from Plusnet is cra ... no, I mean slightly less than wonderful  Wink  .
Seriously, is there a problem with the wireless bit of the Thomson router which Plusnet provide?  Why does it not work, whereas the old Edimax extender does?  The box is in exactly the same place and the Thomson wireless drops out wherever the laptop is, be it right alongside or at the other end of the house.  Any clues?
5 REPLIES 5
w23
Pro
Fixes: 4

Re: Router Trouble

If it's the TG585v8, try switching the wi-fi 'n' off, either set 'g' only or 'b+g', the feeble 'n' mode can be a bit flaky and hardly worth a tiny extra bit of speed.
Sorry, can't remember exactly where it is in the router menus but shouldn't be too difficult to find.
Some Intel wi-fi chipsets also have known issues and there is a specific fix for these but do try switching 'n' off first.
Call me 'w23'