cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Router Problem? Website Down Just For Me :(

Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 246
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎07-07-2012

Router Problem? Website Down Just For Me :(

Evening All Smiley

 

Just moved 1 of my websites to a shiny new cloud server with 1and1, all been added correctly, nameservers updated with registrar can see the site on mobile data, can see it through a VPN just not on my home Plus Net Connection, presuming it is a DNS issue but this has been going on all day now and still not resolved it, any suggestions?

Cleared cache multiple times, re-started router, re-started browser, tried on all different browsers one big LOL!

 

Thanks in advance Smiley

18 REPLIES 18
Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 246
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎07-07-2012

Re: Router Problem? Website Down Just For Me :(

Forgot to add done a tracert and got:

Unable to resolve target system name www.(domain name).co.uk.

But as said works fine on mobile network and through VPN also shows available in the various down for everyone or just for me sites.

Highlighted
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,447
Thanks: 897
Fixes: 49
Registered: ‎02-03-2016

Re: Router Problem? Website Down Just For Me :(

It can take up to 24 hours for full DNS propagation.
I must have been really bad in a previous life as this was my 3rd ISP in a row that used lithium.
Now you're stuck with me because my new ISP doesn't run a forum Cheesy
Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 246
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎07-07-2012

Re: Router Problem? Website Down Just For Me :(

Hello

 

Thanks for the reply, added another comment above about tracert as said it is working on everything apart from Plus Net so thinking it is a local issue?

 

Highlighted
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,447
Thanks: 897
Fixes: 49
Registered: ‎02-03-2016

Re: Router Problem? Website Down Just For Me :(

As I said it can take 24 hours for full propagation, who knows where Plusnet's servers are in the pecking order?
I must have been really bad in a previous life as this was my 3rd ISP in a row that used lithium.
Now you're stuck with me because my new ISP doesn't run a forum Cheesy
Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 246
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎07-07-2012

Re: Router Problem? Website Down Just For Me :(

Not convinced, never had issue like this, propagation always take place at the very worst within 2 hours and that hardly ever happens, always within the hour, literally always, I know the standard speak is within 48 hours but as said in 15 years of piddling about with websites, 8 of those on a PN connection it has never been longer than 2 hours, never.

Has to be a local issue just not sure what................

 

Highlighted
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,447
Thanks: 897
Fixes: 49
Registered: ‎02-03-2016

Re: Router Problem? Website Down Just For Me :(

I can only base my reply on the very limited information you have supplied...
I must have been really bad in a previous life as this was my 3rd ISP in a row that used lithium.
Now you're stuck with me because my new ISP doesn't run a forum Cheesy
Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 246
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎07-07-2012

Re: Router Problem? Website Down Just For Me :(

What other information can I supply Smiley

 

 

Highlighted
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,447
Thanks: 897
Fixes: 49
Registered: ‎02-03-2016

Re: Router Problem? Website Down Just For Me :(

The website you are trying to access!
I must have been really bad in a previous life as this was my 3rd ISP in a row that used lithium.
Now you're stuck with me because my new ISP doesn't run a forum Cheesy
Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 246
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎07-07-2012

Re: Router Problem? Website Down Just For Me :(

of course, sorry Smiley

www.PantMawrCheeses.Co.Uk

Thank you

Highlighted
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,447
Thanks: 897
Fixes: 49
Registered: ‎02-03-2016

Re: Router Problem? Website Down Just For Me :(

That works for me but my router is set to use Google's DNS (8.8.8.8 & 8.8.4.4)
Let me have a hunt around.
I must have been really bad in a previous life as this was my 3rd ISP in a row that used lithium.
Now you're stuck with me because my new ISP doesn't run a forum Cheesy
Grafter
Posts: 246
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎07-07-2012

Re: Router Problem? Website Down Just For Me :(

Thank you Smiley

Highlighted
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,993
Thanks: 417
Fixes: 45
Registered: ‎13-08-2015

Re: Router Problem? Website Down Just For Me :(

Works ok for me, but then i am using Google for DNS!

Highlighted
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,447
Thanks: 897
Fixes: 49
Registered: ‎02-03-2016

Re: Router Problem? Website Down Just For Me :(

It's definitely down to the Plusnet DNS servers not responding, Google responds and the Plusnet Safeguard DNS responds as well.

How long since the DNS changes were made?

Microsoft Windows [Version 10.0.17025.1000]
(c) 2017 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\ian>nslookup
Default Server:  google-public-dns-a.google.com
Address:  8.8.8.8

> www.PantMawrCheeses.Co.Uk
Server:  google-public-dns-a.google.com
Address:  8.8.8.8

Non-authoritative answer:
Name:    www.PantMawrCheeses.Co.Uk
Address:  77.68.90.165

> server 212.159.6.9
Default Server:  cdns01.plus.net
Address:  212.159.6.9

> www.PantMawrCheeses.Co.Uk
Server:  cdns01.plus.net
Address:  212.159.6.9

DNS request timed out.
    timeout was 2 seconds.
DNS request timed out.
    timeout was 2 seconds.
DNS request timed out.
    timeout was 2 seconds.
DNS request timed out.
    timeout was 2 seconds.
*** Request to cdns01.plus.net timed-out
> server 212.159.6.10
Default Server:  cdns02.plus.net
Address:  212.159.6.10

> www.PantMawrCheeses.Co.Uk
Server:  cdns02.plus.net
Address:  212.159.6.10

DNS request timed out.
    timeout was 2 seconds.
DNS request timed out.
    timeout was 2 seconds.
DNS request timed out.
    timeout was 2 seconds.
*** Request to cdns02.plus.net timed-out
> server 213.120.234.42
Default Server:  indnsc92.ukcore.bt.net
Address:  213.120.234.42

> www.PantMawrCheeses.Co.Uk
Server:  indnsc92.ukcore.bt.net
Address:  213.120.234.42

Non-authoritative answer:
Name:    www.PantMawrCheeses.Co.Uk
Address:  77.68.90.165

>
I must have been really bad in a previous life as this was my 3rd ISP in a row that used lithium.
Now you're stuck with me because my new ISP doesn't run a forum Cheesy
Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 246
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎07-07-2012

Re: Router Problem? Website Down Just For Me :(

Thanks for checking all that Smiley I updated the nameservers at the registrar about 7:30 this morning.