cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Recent resyncs

Community Veteran
Posts: 26,786
Thanks: 986
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Recent resyncs

The drops on the sync speed graph are not sync drops  of the modem - it's where routerstats has been unable to get the status page from the router.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 19,964
Thanks: 3,609
Fixes: 387
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: Recent resyncs

Ahhh, thanks for pointing that out jelv. When I look at the sync graph from the Telnet tab there are no apparent drops.
But my line has been giving problems with iPlayer stuttering (even stopping completely) when playing HD at differing times througout the evening and night as well as streaming from other sites.
Perhaps it's as simple as congestion. I'll see how it goes over the next few days.
Edit: Streaming is nigh on impossible at moment and below is the current speedtest.net result (current profile 4000).

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 19,964
Thanks: 3,609
Fixes: 387
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: Recent resyncs

I have had two more resyncs since last night:
The first to 4992 with no sign again in the router's stats.
The second at around 13:17 to 5120.
Unfortunately, I was running RouterStats after a PC reboot yesterday evening.
NM has gone up to 9 whereas over the last week or so it's been oscillating betwen 0 and 1.
Is this a sign of an unstable line which needs further investigating or do I just have to put up with constant resyncs and and randomized NM?
Any help would be appreciated.

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still

Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: ‎18-07-2007

Re: Recent resyncs

Hi Mav,
They're not showing on our connection logs:
<img src="http://ccgi.psmith12.plus.com/visradius/generated/image13185214636314.png" />
Not sure what to recommend to be honest, perhaps try using the DMT tool to set the noise margin from your side of the connection?
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 19,964
Thanks: 3,609
Fixes: 387
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: Recent resyncs

Matt, what sync are you currently showing for me?
Considering BT's speed tests have always matched the sync that my router is displaying I don't understand why the resyncs are not showing on your graphs.
Perhaps it's time to try a different router. I have both the Thomson V7  V8 - which would you suggest to me more appropriate in my situation?
Have added two BT speed tests; first around 7:30 this morning and the second a few minutes ago.

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still

Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: ‎18-07-2007

Re: Recent resyncs

Hi Mav,
I'd need to log in to BTs systems and run a sync check for that, but it'll only show the same thing you're seeing in your router - I can do it if you wish but not sure there's a lot of point as things stand.
The resyncs aren't showing because - as Jojo has mentioned a couple of times before - if there're only a couple of seconds between the router losing and then regaining connection it's not noticed by our RADIUS servers.
Router wise, it depends on which one works best on your line. The only way to tell is trial and error I'm afraid.
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 19,964
Thanks: 3,609
Fixes: 387
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: Recent resyncs

Oh , why, oh why, can't it stay synced and stable at 5120 Sad
Sometime yesterday evening between 7:30 and midnight it resynced aty a little under 4000. so now my profile had dropped to 3000 making watching (streaming) iPlayer in HD impossible.
During the course of the night it had resynced to 4256 and a reboot a few minutes agoand it's now 4416. So, my profile will rise to 3500 which doesn't really allow streaaming HD.
NM is back up to 12 so I don't see a decent sync rate happening anytime soon.
No discernable noise on line, no other changes made so why is this happening. Can I have the NM reset (again), please?

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 19,964
Thanks: 3,609
Fixes: 387
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: Recent resyncs

I have decided it's now time to try the Thomson TG585 V8 to see if it fairs any better.
Having connected the router and set up the relevant password, IP addresses, etc. I updated the firmware from 8.2.7.7 to 8.2.7.8 which went smoothly.
I realsie that at tjis time of day it wouldn't sync at a good level but will reboot in the morning around 10am.
I have attached the current stats which shows the current NM as 12.5! That really seems too high, but why?
I will now attempt to run RouterStats and see how things go over night.

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 19,964
Thanks: 3,609
Fixes: 387
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: Recent resyncs

Thought I'd try the DMT tool to reset the NM myself but it doesn't appear to work with the latest firmware.
Any suggestions?
Cheers

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still

jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: ‎16-06-2010

Re: Recent resyncs

Quote from: Mav
Any suggestions?

Yes, I'll do it. I'll let you know how I get on.
Jojo Smiley
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 19,964
Thanks: 3,609
Fixes: 387
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: Recent resyncs

Just woke up - late night!
I can see the router resynced just before 9am. It's now a more respectable 4928.
That should give me a profile of 4000. Shame it didn't rise back to 5120 for a 4500 profile. Oh, well...
Thanks Jojo Smiley

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 19,964
Thanks: 3,609
Fixes: 387
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: Recent resyncs

Hi again Jojo
BT profile has risen to 4M. Any chance you could give the PN profile a little kick for me, please? Cool

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still

Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: ‎18-07-2007

Re: Recent resyncs

Hi Mav,
That's been changed for you now Smiley
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 19,964
Thanks: 3,609
Fixes: 387
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: Recent resyncs

Thank you Smiley

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 19,964
Thanks: 3,609
Fixes: 387
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: Recent resyncs

Rather than start a new thread I thought I'd ask here...
Has anyone managed to get a version of RouterStats to work with the Thomson 858 V8 (firmware 8.2.7.8) ?
If so, what settings did you use?
Cheers
Edit: Already had another re-sync - down to 4800 (NM at 6)

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still