cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Reading TBB Ping Graphs

shure
Grafter

Reading TBB Ping Graphs

Sorry for the complete nooby question but how does one read these TBB graphs? 
Looking at the attached image I would have thought that my gaming and Skype would be all over the place, as I appear to be getting huge latency spikes.  Oddly enough, my gaming/Skype have actually improved recently (a brief period last night with dropped connection notwithstanding), with only very occasional lag.  So how do I read the graph?  Does it show issues, which has not been my general experience, or does it show a stable connection?  If so, how?
21 REPLIES 21
Gus
Aspiring Pro
Fixes: 3

Re: Reading TBB Ping Graphs

Its the one time less is better, the higher the graphs the harder you are using your connection.  A couple of things you do not want to see.
Too much of is the Red loss coming from the top, I've had the router cable too the phone socket getting damaged and causing that in the past.  When online gaming and you get packet loss you will see others skipping about.
The green part shouldn't change or change by much unless you reboot/reconnect your router and get a different gateway, but the PN fault that has been around for the last 3 weeks has been doing that e.g. of the attached, the spike from 10.30pm too 11pm was a fault with the PN hardware.
It can also be used to check if you connection is being used when you know it shouldn't be, e.g. the wife or kids say they aren't on youtube etc but they really are, ok with unlimited that is not an issue, but if PN revert back it might be a future issue once again if a monthly bandwidth cap is an issue.
FTTP 500 regrade from Tues 28th November
shure
Grafter

Hi Gus,