cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problems setting up a Netgear WiFi Range Extender with plusnet router

fisherdyos

Problems setting up a Netgear WiFi Range Extender with plusnet router

We have a plusnet wireless 563C8B router. To extend the range of this we have bought a Netgear Universal Wifi range extender WN30000RP. The connection appeared to go okay extending the existing network in that there is a good link rate, but it is not accepting the security password for the existing network (which it is supposed to do).
Any suggestions greatly appreciated. I have little technical knowledge unfortunately
7 REPLIES 7
pullenuk
Grafter

Re: Problems setting up a Netgear WiFi Range Extender with plusnet router

You are honestly better off using powerline (or homeplugs known as) to put an access point (not a wireless extender).
Homeplugs are very simple, you plug one into the power socket by the router, you run a network cable from that to the router.
The homeplug uses the electric wires to form a network connection to the second one which....
The second homeplug is in the next location going into the wireless access point. This wireless access point have the same wireless settings as the router.
Bingo..... done. Any wireless devices will automatically connect to whatever is the strongest signal.
candp

I've got the same problem. I hear what you're saying about powerline, but I already bought the netgear extender  :(. What password is it looking for? I typed in the password I always use,the one on the
router, no joy. Do you think it's not accepting it because I have Plusnet fibre connection and not just plain broadband? Ideas please...me and my PC are strangers. I  know very little about computers.
HELP!
ReedRichards
Seasoned Pro
Fixes: 25