cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Pop-up window for Technicolor Gateway password

MS888

Pop-up window for Technicolor Gateway password

At seeming random times, we get messages popping up on both the 2 computers something like:
"Technicolor TG582n Plusnet, Login, Enter your username and password to access your Technicolor Gateway"
We just cancel it and carry on as normal.
I assume this is something to do with the router, supplied by Plusnet. What on Earth is it babbling about? How do I get rid of it or it is some amazing thing to get to untold broadband warp speed or whatever?
Any ideas? No jargon, please, I'm not a techie. Thanks.
4 REPLIES 4
ReedRichards
Seasoned Pro
Fixes: 25

Re: Pop-up window for Technicolor Gateway password

If you entered 192.168.1.254 into the address bar of your web browser and pressed the enter key then you could summon up the pop-up window you refer to.  But I do not know of anything that could cause the pop-up to appear unbidden on two different computers so I can only presume it is a fault on your particular router. 
Pettitto
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Fixes: 5

Hi,
When this message pops up on both computers, have you noticed if the Internet Light is on at all?
If this continues to happen, I would advise clearing out your Cache and Cookies. You can find out how to do this here: http://www.wikihow.com/Clear-Your-Browser's-Cache - You'll just need to choose the browser you are using from the list.
Let me know if this helps at all Smiley
bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Fixes: 316

I suspect it's a combination of two things causing the problem.
Like Chris has mentioned, I think your Internet connection might be dropping out. When it does the router is using it's 'web browsing interception' feature to try and push you to the router settings pages.