cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Plusnet Speed Tester

dejjones
Grafter
Posts: 94
Thanks: 4
Registered: ‎31-07-2007

Plusnet Speed Tester

Recently when I use the PN speed tester, the meter moves up to some credible speed say 2000kps, but then wraps itself off scale and records a very high download speed. The same happens with the "speednet.net" tester.
The BT speed tester seems to work OK.
Any suggestions?
10 REPLIES 10
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: ‎16-06-2010

Re: Plusnet Speed Tester

Hi dejjones,
there's a few things it could be, it may be your security setting, browser add-ons or your flash player may need updating.
Jojo Smiley
dejjones
Grafter
Posts: 94
Thanks: 4
Registered: ‎31-07-2007

Re: Plusnet Speed Tester

Thanks for your suggestions Joanne.
I have just tried a speed test after disabling my virus protection and it it worked fine.
Do you think there's a specific setting in my virus protection that is causing this?
I am using Kaspersky Internet Security 2010
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,032
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Plusnet Speed Tester

I am using KIS2011 build 566 and disabling web antivirus fixes it
dejjones
Grafter
Posts: 94
Thanks: 4
Registered: ‎31-07-2007

Re: Plusnet Speed Tester

Oldjim, I've just tried that and it works OK.
Do you mean you disable it just for the speed test, or do you have it permanently disabled?
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 27,926
Thanks: 2,176
Fixes: 236
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: Plusnet Speed Tester

Using KIS 2010 and I temporarily disable Kaspersky entirely to do the test.

Customer and Forum Moderator. Windows 10 Firefox 67.0 (64-bit)

Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,032
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Plusnet Speed Tester

Just for the speed test
dejjones
Grafter
Posts: 94
Thanks: 4
Registered: ‎31-07-2007

Re: Plusnet Speed Tester

Thanks everyone for your help
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 27,926
Thanks: 2,176
Fixes: 236
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: Plusnet Speed Tester

Quote from: Oldjim
Just for the speed test

Absolutely. I tried disabling web anti-virus but I still recorded crazy D/L speeds.

Customer and Forum Moderator. Windows 10 Firefox 67.0 (64-bit)

pierre_pierre
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Plusnet Speed Tester

cant find how you temporarily switch off AVG, but dont really care getting about 10 M  download
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,032
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Plusnet Speed Tester

@Strat
are you using 2010 or 2011 - note my version which was withdrawn for technical reasons but I don't know what they were