cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PlusNet supplied Thomson ST585 v7 PROBLEMS

uk100nx

PlusNet supplied Thomson ST585 v7 PROBLEMS

Hello
I work in IT support and have been a member of PlusNet at home since July 2002 and have been recommending PlusNet since June 2006 (with my company performing all of these installations ourselves). We have installed a number of PlusNet supplied modems and other manufacturers (mainly Netgear).
On Friday I had an install with a PlusNet supplied Thomson ST585 v7 but couldn't connect either my Windows 7 laptop or the customer's Windows 7 laptop on wirelessly, although all lights on the router lit correctly. The internet did work by ethernet cable initially, but then stopped working, although all the lights were lit correctly.
I performed a hardware reset on the router but the issue was not resolved. After an hour spent attempting to connect I phoned PlusNet support who, after I explained the issues, swapped the modem out with no questions and without running through any troubleshooting steps.
I should also point out that at least four times during my hour on site the modem restarted itself (just like if you pulled the power lead out the back and reinserted it).
I had another install today with exactly the same issues, although the modem has appeared to stabilise (after 45 minutes) and I was then able to connect the customer's machine by ethernet and my Windows 7 laptop connected by wireless.
Sorry for the long post, but does anyone know if there is an issue with a batch of these or if there's a firmware problem or something?
Thanks, Chris.
11 REPLIES 11
orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Plusnet Alumni (retired)

Re: PlusNet supplied Thomson ST585 v7 PROBLEMS

Hi there,
There is an issue at the moment with Windows 7 and WPA security - if you use WEP then it'll work fine. I'm fairly sure there's a firmware update but don't have the link as yet, as soon as I do I'll post back.