cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Not up to speed

Risky
Dabbler

Not up to speed

I've been using plusnet for over five years at a couple of rural addresses without issue.  I now have a flat n centrla london and have the service for a couple of months, but I just returned home after a weekend away find my download speed has dropped below the upload which is rather new experience for me:
Download speedachieved during the test was - 56 Kbps
For your connection, the acceptable range of speedsis 50-250 Kbps.
Additional Information:
Your DSL Connection Rate :287 Kbps(DOWN-STREAM), 443 Kbps(UP-STREAM)
IP Profile for your line is - 135 Kbps
The throughput of Best Efforts (BE) classes achieved during the test is - 12.5:26.79:60.71 (SBE:NBE:PBE)
These figures represent the ratio while sententiously passing Sub BE, Normal BE and Priority BE marked traffic.
The results of this test will vary depending on the way your ISP has decided to use these traffic classes.

This seemed a bit odd and I had a look at https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed and found that sure enough 250 was all I'm now getting:
Phone exchange: SOUTHWARK
Estimated line speed:5 - Checked on 2010-05-11 14:49:37
Current line speed: 250

I'm sure this was fine last week so do I need to raise a ticket when this happens or is it supposed to right itself?
12 REPLIES 12
HPsauce
Pro
Fixes: 2

Re: Not up to speed

Flats are infamous for dodgy wiring which can do all that and worse.
What sort of flat is it, e.g. modern purpose-built or conversion and do you have a BT line terminated in a "proper" modern master socket?
Any extensions?
Risky
Dabbler

It's a large warehouse block converted in the late 90s.  Looks to be a fairly modern socket.
adamwalker
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Fixes: 221

Hi Risky,