cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

No network from 2am to 5pm

arichards
Grafter
Posts: 62
Registered: a month ago

Re: No network from 2am to 5pm

I now have my new 2704n router setup so will see what happens tonight !

jab1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,092
Thanks: 2,051
Fixes: 63
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: No network from 2am to 5pm

Thumbs_Up

John
arichards
Grafter
Posts: 62
Registered: a month ago

Re: No network from 2am to 5pm

Worked fine until 3.20 and then no network.

Switched DNS to Google and chrome is fine but other apps such as eBay show no network.

arichards
Grafter
Posts: 62
Registered: a month ago

Re: No network from 2am to 5pm

So it worked fine all day/night and then at exactly 3.20 no network until 4.58.

 

As usual YouTube worked fine during this period.

 

Changed the DNS to Google and Chrome worked for about 5 minutes then nothing.

 

Screenshot_20210224-033948.png

jab1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,092
Thanks: 2,051
Fixes: 63
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: No network from 2am to 5pm

So that's the router eliminated from the equation, but I'm now even more confused, because you've also removed any chance of a time-control action.

I don't recall, but have you tried other sites than YouTube during this period - because if that does, others should too - they all follow the same route to your phone?

John
corringham
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 567
Thanks: 287
Fixes: 7
Registered: ‎25-09-2015

Re: No network from 2am to 5pm

Can you get the error stats from this router? It would be interesting to see whether there are errors, or whether it is purely a software issue that is causing the problems.

Also, have you tried a wired device with this router - to eliminate the WiFi?

arichards
Grafter
Posts: 62
Registered: a month ago

Re: No network from 2am to 5pm

YouTube is the only app that's seems to work when there's no network.

I've tried BBC news and Weather apps, eBay, Yahoo mail and Halifax, all report no network found.

Can't seem to find error logs on this router ?

 

I'll check my TV connection later when it goes down.

arichards
Grafter
Posts: 62
Registered: a month ago

Re: No network from 2am to 5pm

2.20 no internet until 4.50.

TV says the same, connected, no internet.

Found this on my router.

Screenshot_20210225-025205.png

jab1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,092
Thanks: 2,051
Fixes: 63
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: No network from 2am to 5pm

Thanks for that, @arichards . The really confusing bit is the second column of the connection status report - I don't see how it can be in all three states at once, and I don't understand the 'Bridge not configured' comment - definitely something for a network expert - @corringham ?

John
corringham
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 567
Thanks: 287
Fixes: 7
Registered: ‎25-09-2015

Re: No network from 2am to 5pm

The Internet Status value looks totally bonkers to me - it has all the possible values showing rather than the current status.

Looking at the 2704 manual, it should be "DSL Down", "Disconnected", "Connecting", "Connected", or "Bridge not configured" - not all of them at once!

The square box in the third column should be a button with "Connect" or "Disconnect" to change the status.

What are the lights on the front of the router doing - particularly :

  1. the ADSL (tick) light - is it steady green or flashing?
  2. the Internet light (@) light - is it off, steady green, flashing green, or red?
Dan_the_Van
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 455
Thanks: 32
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎25-06-2007

Re: No network from 2am to 5pm

It would be interesting what PlusNet see on their network during these events hopefully @arichards has an open case for this. Now the modem/router has been replaced to me it would suggest a backend issue and not local. The problem is PlustNet first level support may only be looking for DSL down, which in this case is sometimes not happening.

I understand  you can access the further settings using http://192.168.1.254/expert_user.html be nice if you can export (save) the log file as a text file rather than taking pictures.

Dan.

arichards
Grafter
Posts: 62
Registered: a month ago

Re: No network from 2am to 5pm

I'll check the lights on the router later.

That address doesn't seem to work, just reports error.

This is how the homepage looks normally, it shows the same if there is or isn't a network.

 

Screenshot_20210225-221304.png

arichards
Grafter
Posts: 62
Registered: a month ago

Re: No network from 2am to 5pm

2.13 to 4.55 no network.

Power, Broadband, Internet, Wi-Fi, Ethernet ( TV ) all constant green.

Plusnet told me everything looked okay on there end, no drops.

arichards
Grafter
Posts: 62
Registered: a month ago

Re: No network from 2am to 5pm

Screenshot_20210226-022815.png

jab1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,092
Thanks: 2,051
Fixes: 63
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: No network from 2am to 5pm

Looks like the DSL link has stayed up since you installed this router - which it didn't appear to be doing with the other one, but I am mystified as to why you apparently can't access anything other than YT during this period - it is not logical! 😕

John