cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

No network from 2am to 5pm

arichards
Grafter
Posts: 62
Registered: a month ago

Re: No network from 2am to 5pm

Not sure if this is any help...Screenshot_20210221-035923.pngScreenshot_20210221-040030.png

arichards
Grafter
Posts: 62
Registered: a month ago

Re: No network from 2am to 5pm

Not sure if this is any help ...Screenshot_20210221-040030.pngScreenshot_20210221-035923.png

arichards
Grafter
Posts: 62
Registered: a month ago

Re: No network from 2am to 5pm

4.30 and it's working again.

jab1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,092
Thanks: 2,051
Fixes: 63
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: No network from 2am to 5pm

@arichards Again I will have to let someone with more experience and knowledge pass comment, but to me, the pings look reasonable, but the traceroute is a little concerning - I wouldn't expect the first hop - to your router - to be quite as slow, although the other hops look to be OK.

John
corringham
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 567
Thanks: 287
Fixes: 7
Registered: ‎25-09-2015

Re: No network from 2am to 5pm

OK, so we now have ping and traceroute during the "no internet" periods. 

The ping shows there is an internet connection, and the ping time to google's DNS is 18-22ms, which is OK (better than mine which is 20-40ms). There is a 7% packet loss, which may or may not show a problem - replying to ICMP pings is one of the lowest priorities - but if packet loss happens for TCP as well as ICMP that could make web browsing etc. a bit erratic.

It would be interesting to try pinging the Plusnet DNS servers as well to see if there is any appreciable difference in time or packet loss.

The traceroute confirms that the connection is in place, and the only suspicious figure is the first hop - to the router itself. 136ms seems a very long time (mine is 0.3ms, but I do have a better router).

For the router to be that slow (and it could also be the cause of the ping packet loss), it suggests it is struggling in some way. It may be that there is a sustained attack on your IP address that the router is having to respond to - I see multiple attacks on my servers every day, but my router and firewall can cope with them - the same level of attack on a TG582n could cripple it. Or it could just be an old router that is showing signs of failing - the replacement router will answer that question.

jab1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,092
Thanks: 2,051
Fixes: 63
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: No network from 2am to 5pm

Just an idea - what does a traceroute look like when you do have a connection, @arichards ? Might answer the long response time to your router, and whether that is the problem.

John
arichards
Grafter
Posts: 62
Registered: a month ago

Re: No network from 2am to 5pm

Here's the same when everything is OK.

I'll do the same to plusnet address tonight when the connection is lost.Screenshot_20210221-204539.pngScreenshot_20210221-204640.png

arichards
Grafter
Posts: 62
Registered: a month ago

Re: No network from 2am to 5pm

2.20 no internet.

If I disconnect on the Technicolor router and then reconnect it works for about 1 minute ?Here's when it's not working.Screenshot_20210222-022148.pngScreenshot_20210222-022327.png

jab1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,092
Thanks: 2,051
Fixes: 63
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: No network from 2am to 5pm

OK - as far as I recall, we have never seen your logs from the 0200-0500 period. If you could post them, and the DSL stats once you can get back on line, they would be a help.

John
arichards
Grafter
Posts: 62
Registered: a month ago

Re: No network from 2am to 5pm

2.20 lost network

4.20 network back

 

Screenshot_20210223-043358.pngScreenshot_20210223-043440.png

jab1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,092
Thanks: 2,051
Fixes: 63
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: No network from 2am to 5pm

@arichards Thanks for those two screenshots. Unfortunately, apart from the fact that it shows you must have had a DSL drop around 0600 - a regular feature, from previous posts, there is absolutely nothing in the log to explain your 2 hour break.

@corringham , @idonno , @Dan_the_Van  - any ideas, because I'm stumped?

John
Dan_the_Van
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 455
Thanks: 32
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎25-06-2007

Re: No network from 2am to 5pm

Hi @jab1 

Indeed the logs are showing very little, just the usual firewall messages which I expect your TG582n does as well. Really any ping and trace route testing should use the domain name and not an IP address and this would prove DNS as well.

@arichards on you android device have you tried setting up the network connection to use openDNS or google DNS rather than using the TG582n as the DNS server?

If it was me I'd try another modem/router before doing any more log gazing. 

Dan

jab1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,092
Thanks: 2,051
Fixes: 63
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: No network from 2am to 5pm

@Dan_the_Van Yep, my router logs show very little activity - usually just SNTP notifications and logons, I seem to have very few intrusion attempts these days.

I agree about using domain names for ping and tracroutes too - IPs should resolve without the need for DNS.

Hopefully @arichards will get the new router soon.

John
corringham
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 567
Thanks: 287
Fixes: 7
Registered: ‎25-09-2015

Re: No network from 2am to 5pm

Just a recap, along with some info from the log:

  • the experience is "no internet" for a 2 (or so) hour period from around 2:20
  • the DSL is not dropping
  • at those times there is packet loss, but traceroutes still work
  • the logs show some outgoing DNS connections report "destination unreachable"
  • the stats show some errors - I wasn't sure whether these were cumulative (since factory reset), or since power reset. Since some of the latest figures are lower than the previous ones I'm guessing it is since power cycle or reboot.
  • CRC/HEC errors aren't massive, although we don't know whether they are spaced out or all in the 2 hour period
  • error seconds is large at > 2000 in under 11 hours (if I'm interpreting the figure correctly)
  • loss of framing at 27 is also maybe high for 11 hours
  • SNR of 7.3/8.4 are strange values - but some routers are not good at reporting SNR
  • sync rate 1091/15285 is actually very good for ADSL2+
  • There are no FEC errors, so you are probably on fast path (not interleaved) which suggests that the DSLAM hasn't tried to compensate for line errors by adding interleaving or increasing the SNR.

In my next post I'll go through some possible explanations and how the evidence above matches them...

corringham
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 567
Thanks: 287
Fixes: 7
Registered: ‎25-09-2015

Re: No network from 2am to 5pm

So some possible explanations:

  1. Parental lock / timed access - the obvious answer, but I think we have excluded that
  2. DNS - the "no internet" but no drop in DSL suggests DNS resolution issues - but the settings are correct and work for other people, and access to an alternative DNS (8.8.8.8) is reported as destination unreachable - so probably a symptom rather than the cause.
  3. REIN - the DSLAM would usually have moved to interleaved and increased the SNR to compensate - so probably not
  4. Sustained intrusion attempts - there are some port scans, but the consistent time periods make it seem unlikely
  5. A faulty router or power brick - I understand it is quite old, so is a possibility.
  6. Something else?

I agree with @Dan_the_Van , a new/different router is the way to go. Likely it will solve the problem, but if it doesn't it will narrow the issue down quite a bit.