cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

No internet

Highlighted
Hooked
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎10-09-2015

No internet

My internet cut out today and I do not know why. I can't use it at all and the Internet light is flashing red.
7 REPLIES 7
Highlighted
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 16,329
Thanks: 6,625
Fixes: 56
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: No internet

Hi,

Lets cover some of the basics first.

Do you have a dial tone?  If yes, dial 17070.  Does it report the correct number for your line?  Select option 2; is the line noisy?

Can you dial out?  If you phone your own number does it ring?

Have you made any changes to your internal wiring or devices connected to the phone line?

Highlighted
Hooked
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎10-09-2015

Re: No internet

I don't have phone service. I have not touched any wiring or the router.
Highlighted
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 16,329
Thanks: 6,625
Fixes: 56
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: No internet

With no phone service (dial tone) you are not going to get working broadband.  You'll need to report a phone fault to your phone provider.  If it's PlusNET, use the phone fault link below.

Highlighted
Hooked
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎10-09-2015

Re: No internet

I had working internet yesterday. I explicitly have just internet with no phone.
Highlighted
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 16,329
Thanks: 6,625
Fixes: 56
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: No internet

For clarification, are you suggesting that you have naked DSL?  I did not think PlusNET offered such services.

The absence of a phone service makes user testing of a circuit impossible.  Suggest that you simply raise a broadband fault report instead.  Use the link below.

Highlighted
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 2,226
Thanks: 398
Fixes: 122
Registered: ‎22-08-2015

Re: No internet

Hello there. I'm not in work at the moment so I can't see your account, however a red Internet light usually indicates the router can't authenticate.
Unless there's a bigger fault or an MSO, I'd recommend first trying a factory reset of the router, if that fails then try logging into the router settings and reconnecting with your broadband username/password.
Hope this helps

[Edit]
Presuming you're using a Plusnet router. If not, skip the factory reset part.
This is my personal Community Forum account to help out around these parts while I'm at home. If I'm posting from the 1st March 2020, this means I'm off-duty with no access to internal systems.
If this post resolved your issue, please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
Highlighted
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,107
Thanks: 452
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: No internet

There was a previous incidence of no PPP session (no authentication) at the end of November. See here where the username was missing the @plusdsl.net

@mankoleb Check your username is entered correctly.
Also, now, whether you believe you have phone service or not, you will find that you have.
The fact that you do not use it or have a phone connected is beside the point.
if you have a corded phone, I suggest that you plug it in and check whether you have dial-tone or some sort of noise/connection on the line. If you do not and it is completely dead, then report a dead line phone fault to your line rental provider as previously mentioned by townman. If you have audible noise on the line do the same.

If you don't have a corded phone, I suggest that you buy a cheap one (around £5) from stores like Argos or similar (or maybe from eBay - but make sure it has a guarantee) otherwise checking for line faults is not an easy possibility - such things speed up fault resolution..