Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

No connection, but have DSL sync!

balmedie
Dabbler

No connection, but have DSL sync!

Hi folks (particularly the plus.net techs),
My connection at home has been down since 4am on the 25th, and whilst I do have a support case open and am sure everything is being done to get me back online...Im interested as to what the problem might be as Im an IT Consultant.
My home router is a Cisco 877w (although I do have a Cisco 2821 I use for my home training lab which has an ADSL WIC in it) - So between support and myself we quickly diagnosed the fault isnt at my end (tested both routers doing the same and swapped filters etc....)
Whats happening is that Im getting sync (carrier detect if you wish), but the PPP session never comes up - I did run some debugs on my router, but I never made a note of them....having worked with Cisco kit for a number of years, Im familiar with a lot of what its telling me, but Ive never delved deep into troubleshooting ATM/PPP issues - something rings a bell about ILMI events in the debug (not sure if they were relevant though).
Looking at the status lights and watching the debug output though, I was definately able to tell that it was sending requests (TX LED would flash about 8 times, with 8 debug entries generated) and then stop for a minute, then do it again, it just does this constantly....in a loop....so it looks as if something isnt responding to my connection requests?
I dont think its exchange related, all my neighbours are still online (albeit different ISP's) and its a small village/town with its own telephone exchange - and there are no incidents recorded for my exchange...
As I say, Im just curious - any thoughts?Huh
Cheers
Paul
21 REPLIES 21
adamwalker
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Fixes: 221

Re: No connection, but have DSL sync!

Hi balmedie,
I'm just having a look at your account now to see what can be gathered.