cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New user - printer won't work?

VB22
Dabbler

New user - printer won't work?

I am new to Plusnet broadband and have little technical expertise - please help!
We have a completely wired system, with a TG582n router, 3 inputs (main computer, network printer, hub) and a hub (3 other local network computers). All the pcs are Windows XP. We set it all up 2 days ago and had broadband and access to the network printer for all the pcs. Everything was good ...
Today we still have broadband, but are unable to print from any of the pcs. All the lights are on, the printer can print internal stuff, and all cables seem OK. I have re-installed the printer on the main pc, re-booted, and re-set the router, but nothing seems to work.
A call to the Plusnet guys merely confirmed that the broadband was working OK, they are unable to support other issues, which I suppose is fair enough.
Can anyone help?
6 REPLIES 6
pwatson
Rising Star
Fixes: 1

Re: New user - printer won't work?

Has the IP address of the printer changed?  I'd suggest setting it manually to an address outside the DHCP range allocated by the router.
HTH
VB22
Dabbler

Oh dear, there's so much in your reply I don't understand!
How would I change the IP address of the printer, and how do I know what range the router is using?
Many thanks for your help
VB22
Dabbler

Right, I have pulled myself together and googled how to find IP addresses.  Smiley
The printer is plugged directly into the router, it's not attached to any particular pc. However, looking under installed printers on this pc I can see the IP address of the network printer (per the pc) is 192.168.1.12.
On the printer itself, going through the menu settings to TCP/IP, it shows 192.168.1.64.
I'm guessing that these 2 numbers should be the same? Can I change the setting on the printer to match that on the pc? What about the DHCP range you referred to?
Thanks for any help on this.
VB22
Dabbler