cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New line - unbelievably slow.

Highlighted
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 32
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎26-11-2011

Re: New line - unbelievably slow.

I'm expecting around 1Mbps for your line and you're at about half that.
You can complete the Fault Checker - you wouldn't be charged unless we got an engineer out (Which we wouldn't do without your consent anyway).
Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎22-01-2014

Re: New line - unbelievably slow.

Hi Chris,
i've submit the ticket, can you pick that up?
After resolving this issue will you be able to put me on a gamer porfile so i can make the most of the poor connection before FTTC is available?

Thanks,
Reece
Highlighted
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 32
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎26-11-2011

Re: New line - unbelievably slow.

Thanks Reece - just looking now.
Highlighted
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 32
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎26-11-2011

Re: New line - unbelievably slow.

I've popped an update on that ticket for you.
Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎22-01-2014

Re: New line - unbelievably slow.

Hi chris,
I've popped home and set up a different router. Syncs a bit higher but only at 843 kbps down.
here's the info for the new router in the test socket:
ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
Connection Speed 843 kbps 443 kbps
Line Attenuation 62.5 db 36.5 db
Noise Margin 6.1 db 12.0 db
The ping has gone through the roof. From 70~ to 600~ since i swapped the routers.
Please tell me we can get my ping down to 15 - 30~ today?
thanks
Reece
Highlighted
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 15,141
Thanks: 6,008
Fixes: 36
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: New line - unbelievably slow.

Not good!
You attenuation (63dB) and Kitz reported distance (5km) are comparable. So nothing outrageously wrong with the line on the face of it.  What are the back ground noise levels like?  Have you done a 17070 option 2 test?  I cannot see a reference to the same on here.  If the line is not silent, then there is a POTS issue to be addressed before any improvement is going to be obtained from the BB service.  Is your phone line also provided by PN?  If not and there is noise on the line, then you are likely to need to get the other party involved!  Cry
@Chris,
Is there merit in running a full copper test - line balance and the like?
Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎22-01-2014

Re: New line - unbelievably slow.

Thanks for your help Townman.
Out of interest, before my BB was activated (the 5 - 7 working days wait in between phone line activation and BB activation) , i did a 17070 test. The line wasn't quiet - alot of hissing. But my house is a new build so i'm pretty sure it's not internal.
Reece
Highlighted
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 32
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎26-11-2011

Re: New line - unbelievably slow.

If I'm honest, from looking at the line statistics, I don't think we're going to get much more from the line.
I'm willing to have an engineer check over everything, however, with a line estimate of 1Mb and you're connecting at just under that rate. You've seen an increase of 200Kb which is great and you should be able to game on it but you might see lag from time to time.
The CLT passed, balance is all fine and the tests are passing without any issues. Is the line still noisy now?
As I say, I'm happy to pursue a little further just to be sure.
Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎22-01-2014

Re: New line - unbelievably slow.

I can't check the Line now as im back at work - i'll have to check tonight.
To be honest Chris FTTC should be installed at the beginning of next month and so i will switch when it does.
Yes i got an extra 200 kbps but my ping increased by 1000%
This won't be much of an issue IF i can get my ping down. Did you place me on a gamer profile?
Getting my ping down to 15 - 30ish would be great.
thanks
Highlighted
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 32
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎26-11-2011

Re: New line - unbelievably slow.

When you say 'Gamer Profile' - do you mean having Interleaving removed from your line?
Removing Interleaving will help bring the ping times down. If your line becomes unstable for any reason though, Interleaving will automatically come back on.
If you'd like for me to do this, let me know and I'll get it removed for you.
Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎22-01-2014

Re: New line - unbelievably slow.

Yes please.
If i change the routers over again at any point tonight will the interleaving come back on?
I wanted to test the ping for both routers with interleaving off

thanks
Highlighted
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 32
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎26-11-2011

Re: New line - unbelievably slow.

If you change routers, it should be fine, but ideally we could do with keeping the connection on for as long as possible - but that should be fine.
I'll make the change now.
Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎22-01-2014

Re: New line - unbelievably slow.

stats as of this eve, replaced faceplate and router as netgear one was giving me connectivity problems:
Quote
Link Information
Uptime: 0 days, 0:45:16
DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.3
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 443 / 551
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 7.91 / 141.16
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.6 / 0.0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 37.3 / 63.0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 10.7 / 6.0
System Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ----
Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote): BDCM / IFTN
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): -
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 12 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 12
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 4

Down to 500kbps
Guessing this is because i synced at peek times. Will probably restart the router tommorow when the street lights are off at middayish.
Any other ideas to squeeze the most out of my line?
thanks
Highlighted
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 15,141
Thanks: 6,008
Fixes: 36
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: New line - unbelievably slow.

Quote from: reecicles
i did a 17070 test. The line wasn't quiet - alot of hissing.

Quote from: Chris
The CLT passed, balance is all fine and the tests are passing without any issues. Is the line still noisy now?

Hi Reece,
Is the line still noisy?  If yes, it needs to be fixed FIRST.  Who do you pay your phone line bill to?  If it is PN, then they will look after this for you, if not then you need to report a noisy line fault to your phone provider, but do NOT mention that you have broadband issues as they will try to pass the buck!