cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New line profile

jwsg
Rising Star

New line profile

Is it possible that my new phone line and broadband connection were provisioned on ADSL1 ?
The router reports
DSL Type:ITU-T G.992.1
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 448 / 8.128

Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 16,5 / 25,5

SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 31,0 / 16,9
I thought 992.5 is ADSL2+ and those stats suggest to me I should be capable of a much better speed
10 REPLIES 10
Pedro
Grafter

Re: New line profile

Yes, g.992.5 is adsl2+ and yes your stats are capable of better speed.
A good place to start is http://www.samknows.com/broadband/exchange_search. ; You find out what's available at your exchange there.
If I'm not mistaken you're looking for "21CN WBC status: enabled" in the BT Wholesale information section, for adsl2+
jwsg
Rising Star

My exchange is 21CN (and FTTC for that matter) -
I'm new to PlusNet but not ADSL (I've been on ADSL2+ for years before) . I can see that sometimes when someone's connection is not set up correctly a forum Mod steps in and helps
Oldjim
Resting Legend
Fixes: 63

Sorry to be the bearer of bad news but the Forum Mods are just customers like yourself and can't help
As you have been provisioned on the wrong product I suggest phoning in or raising a ticket.
Alternatively wait until Monday when it should be picked up by a member of staff and sorted
Jaggies
Aspiring Pro
Fixes: 2

It could be that the ADSL setting is an option in the router, and just needs changing - we don't know which router the OP is using.
jwsg
Rising Star

The default TG582n just to get things running before I switch to my own modem
It's a new line so all the speed estimation on purchase was completely thrown - the default seems to be ADSL1
One of the many automated "questions" I got was
    Provisioning of your ADSL Account Information
    Install diary status changed from Realm configured to Awaiting submission to the DSL supplier