Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New customer - Speed problem

LeeSmall
Grafter

New customer - Speed problem

Hi,
I am new to Plusnet and have a problem with my connection speed.  Lots of websites are timing out or not loading at all.  My router is telling me that my downstream connection speed is 803kbs but my results from http://www.speedtester.bt.com/ are:
Download speedachieved during the test was - 249 Kbps
For your connection, the acceptable range of speedsis 50-500 Kbps.
Additional Information:
Your DSL Connection Rate :800 Kbps(DOWN-STREAM), 400 Kbps(UP-STREAM)
IP Profile for your line is - 500 Kbps
The throughput of Best Efforts (BE) classes achieved during the test is - 9.24:25.3:65.46 (SBE:NBE:PBE)
These figures represent the ratio while sententiously passing Sub BE, Normal BE and Priority BE marked traffic.
I was with Supanet a few months ago and was getting a connection of around 1024kbs.  Can somebody please take a look?
Thanks
Lee
13 REPLIES 13
LeeSmall
Grafter

Re: New customer - Speed problem

Forgot to say, those tests were done using a wired connection and the router/adsl modem is plugged into the master socket.
Lee
Oldjim
Resting Legend
Fixes: 63

There is obviously something adrift unless you are a very long way from the exchange
Can you post your router stats - noise margin, attenuation and speeds
When you say the master socket - was this the test socket and if not can you try that
LeeSmall
Grafter

Connection Speed 803 kbps 402 kbps
Line Attenuation      77.0 db    44.5 db
Noise Margin          6.7 db        3.7 db

The socket says it's a ADSL v1.0 - I just checked and it doesn't have a test socket.
Thanks
Lee
Oldjim
Resting Legend
Fixes: 63

You are in trouble.
The only chance you would have of getting better speeds would be to go onto a fixed rate product (1Mbps) but I have a nasty feeling that the BT systems won't let you do it.
LeeSmall
Grafter