cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New User - slow broadband speed

panlid
Hooked

New User - slow broadband speed

Hi, i'm new to plusnet, my connection has been live for 2 weeks or so. I have not been able to break 4Mbps. Not happy at all with this considering the service is advertised up to 17Mbps and i'm not even getting 1/4 of that. Is there anything that can be done to improve it? Username is panlid. 

16 REPLIES 16
panlid
Hooked

Re: New User - slow broadband speed

Some more information from the BT speed test:

Download speedachieved during the test was - 3.79 Mbps
 For your connection, the acceptable range of speeds is 1.2 Mbps-4 Mbps.
 IP Profile for your line is - 4.01 Mbps

panlid
Hooked

And the estimated line speed is 15Mb according to the plusnet check.

panlid
Hooked

Your Plusnet adviser may ask you for the following information:
1 - Product name: Plusnet Router
2 - Serial number: xxxxx
3 - Firmware version: 7.275.2_F2704N_Plusnet
4 - Board version: F@ST2704N
5 - Mode ADSL
6 - Uptime: 8 days 18:59:18
7 - Data rate: 672/4555
8 - Maximum data rate: 900/5088
9 - Noise margin: 7.4/7.4
10 - Line attenuation: 28.4/36.0
12 - Data sent/received: 1.8G/1.6G
20 - Broadband username: xxxxxx
21 - Wi-Fi network/SSID: xxxxxx
22 - Wi-Fi connections: Enable(802.11 b/g/n(up to 144 Mb/s))20 MHz WPS enabled
23 - Wi-Fi security: WPA2
24 - Wi-Fi channel: Automatic (Smart Wireless)
25 - Firewall: Default
26 - MAC Address: 24:7f:20:2f:d2:52
27 - Software variant Version 1.0
28 - Boot loader: 7.275.2

Moderator's note by Mike (Mav): Personal information removed from a public forum.

Chris
Legend
Fixes: 169

Your line is very stable, so that's not causing any problems.

Judging from the line attenuation, I'd expect you to be connecting at a much higher speed that you are.

Upstream DSL Link Information Downstream DSL Link Information
Loop Loss: 28.4 36.0
SNR Margin: 7.3 7.4
Errored Seconds: 0 3
HEC Errors: 0  
Cell Count: 241731 421364