Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

My own modem right from day 1?

IngeJones
Aspiring Pro
Fixes: 2

My own modem right from day 1?

Having read of people not having their modems or routers ready after their service is installed, I was thinking of getting myself the DrayTek Vigor 2760n combined modem/router instead of the router I have asked for as part of my signup.  Is there any reason this might not be such a good idea?  I mean I know it's ok with the service in general terms but am I likely to regret not at least starting off with the supplied one?
23 REPLIES 23
myredhotcar
Grafter

Re: My own modem right from day 1?

I'm no expert but unless the cost of the DrayTek is an issue no.
Some people have no issues with bundled routers; I have never owned a decent bundled router. I have never used the PN bundled router but from what I can tell it certainly isn't a spectacularly great bit of kit.
Gus
Aspiring Pro
Fixes: 3

Keep the supplied one as support are Trained for them, then if[more likely when] you get problems, you have a router to test with.  Then you won't confuse the support agent by using a different router than they know.
But if you can afford it why not, just remember if you have problems down the line, try the supplied one first and double check.  Also ticks the box of , yes I have tried another type of router, which they always ask for you to do
FTTP 500 regrade from Tues 28th November
digitalham
Rising Star
Fixes: 1

Own router certainly (I never included the PN one in my own order) but own modem? I'm not certain - if BT tweak the system with for example vectoring would a third party modem support it fully? Of course it may be that the BT issued modems couldn't either and would need replacing but that would still just be the modem and not the entire modem/router combo which currently don't come cheap. Certainly the HG612 only has a 100Mbps ethernet port so there isn't much headroom for headline speed increases.
IngeJones