cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Miraculous Line Speed Improvement!

bwthornton

Miraculous Line Speed Improvement!

I'm a new customer who was previously with Fast.co.uk (expensive but good) with a maximum line speed of around 2Mbps.
Imagine my delight when I received the following e-mail from Plusnet this morning advising me of my new, improved service:
"When you signed up for your broadband account, we performed a check on your telephone line to give you an estimated speed your line might achieve.
Now that your service has now been active for 14 days, we thought we'd let you know the speed as it stands today, by way of comparison.
Estimated line speed: 2Mbps
Current line speed: 7.15Mbps"

I've just done a speed check and, guess what: max speed 1966kbps, exactly the same as before.
I'm no techie so perhaps I'm missing something? Can someone please explain?  Huh

6 REPLIES 6
Strat
Community Veteran
Fixes: 565

Re: Miraculous Line Speed Improvement!

Could you post some stats from your router and the results of a BT speedtest
Windows 10 Firefox 109.0 (64-bit)
To argue with someone who has renounced the use of reason is like administering medicine to the dead - Thomas Paine
bwthornton

Thanks for the very prompt reply, Strat!
As I said, I'm no techie so I may need some talking through here.  I've just done the BT speedtest and here are the results you requested:
Download speed achieved during the test was - 1860 Kbps
For your connection, the acceptable range of speeds is 400-2000 Kbps.
Additional Information:
Your DSL Connection Rate :2400 Kbps(DOWN-STREAM), 448 Kbps(UP-STREAM)
IP Profile for your line is - 2000 Kbps

How do I obtain router stats?  It's a Belkin N wireless router
Strat
Community Veteran

Have a look here http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/frogstats.php
To argue with someone who has renounced the use of reason is like administering medicine to the dead - Thomas Paine
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 385