Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Line speed increased but download speed stuck

xbeemer
Dabbler

Line speed increased but download speed stuck

Hi all,
I’ve been running a Billion BIPAC 7800n since early March 2012 and from the minute I got it installed, successfully tweaked the SNR settings to raise my download speeds from around 550kB/s to a much better 765kB/s with a downstream line speed of 7,616 kbps which it consistently maintained  :).  Then about a month ago, there was a slight drop in line speed to about 7,585kbps followed by another drop a few days later.  Suspecting a router problem, I rebooted it, which unfortunately lost the connection altogether – the DSL light didn’t even light up, so looked like a fault in the modem section.
Anyway, after doing all the normal diagnostic checks (plugged the router into the test socket behind my Solwise faceplate, replaced the line connector etc. without success, eventually tried an ancient Belkin router, which immediately connected but with a much slower download speed of around 365kB/s (and obviously not tweakable!)  Sad
So I bit the bullet, bought and installed another Billion BIPAC 7800n and started the tweaking process over again.  However, although this once again resulted in a lift in the downstream line speed (up to 7,008 kbps so far), the download speed remains at the paltry 365kB/s level and has continued to do so since the new installation 25 days ago.  Cry
Can somebody tell me - has my line been capped for some reason?
Brian G
4 REPLIES 4
Oldjim
Resting Legend
Fixes: 63

Re: Line speed increased but download speed stuck

xbeemer
Dabbler

Yes, understand all of that, apart from the ‘Current line speed’ figure.